This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content

RefWorks: Legacy RefWorks FAQ

RefWorks FAQ

What is RefWorks?

  1. What is RefWorks?
  2. How accurate are citations created by RefWorks?

RefWorks accounts:

  1. How do I get a RefWorks account?
  2. I am working on a group project. Can we share a RefWorks account?
  3. Can more than one person be logged into an account at the same time?
  4. Can I login to more than one RefWorks account on the same computer?
  5. Will my RefWorks account expire?
  6. Can I keep my RefWorks account after I graduate or leave UP?

Getting citations into RefWorks:

  1. How many citations can I store in RefWorks?
  2. How do I get citations into RefWorks?
  3. I previously used Endnote/ProCite/Reference Manager. Can I import my citations into RefWorks?
  4. Can I export citations from Google Scholar into RefWorks?
  5. Can I export citations from UP Library Search to RefWorks from an off-campus computer?
  6. I tried to export citations to RefWorks, but nothing happened.

Working with citations:

  1. How can I access the actual article?

Write-n-Cite:

  1. What is Write-n-Cite?
  2. How do I download Write-n-Cite?
  3. When I try to install Write-n-Cite version 4, I am prompted to install Microsoft Visual Studio Tools. Where can I download Microsoft Visual Studio Tools?
  4. How do I use Write-n-Cite from off-campus?
  5. Write-n-Cite is asking me for a group code. Where do I get a group code?
  6. Write-n-Cite 4.0 is asking me for a login code. Where do I find the login code?
  7. How can I create a footnote using Write-n-Cite?
  8. After I have created my paper using Write-n-Cite, can I go back and edit or add new citations?
  9. Can I use Write-n-Cite with Microsoft Word 2010?
  10. Can I use Write-n-Cite with Windows 7?
  11. Can I use Write-n-Cite with Windows 8?
  12. Write-n-Cite tip for Yosemite (Mac)

Sharing citations:

  1. How can I share my citations with others?

Common citation style issues:

  1. Common issues with APA style citations
  2. Common issues with MLA style citations
  3. Common issues with Chicago style citations

More help:

  1. How can I get help using RefWorks?

What is RefWorks?

  1. What is RefWorks?
    RefWorks is a web-based citation management system. Users create a personal RefWorks account where they can collect and organize citations and output those citations into papers with pre-formatted in-text citations and bibliographies.

  2. How accurate are citations created by RefWorks?
    RefWorks is a helpful first-step in creating citations, however it is not 100% accurate. It is essential that you verify citations created by RefWorks against a style manual for that discipline to catch any errors.

RefWorks accounts:

  1. How do I get a RefWorks account?
    You can create your personal RefWorks account by selecting "Sign up for a New Account" on the RefWorks home page.

  2. I am working on a group project. Can we share a RefWorks account?
    Yes. You can create multiple accounts in RefWorks. By creating a new account for your group project, all group members can access the account to add citations or create bibliographies.

  3. Can more than one person be logged into an account at the same time?
    Yes, multiple users can access an account simultaneously.

  4. Can I login to more than one RefWorks account on the same computer?
    Yes, if you use two different Internet browsers. Login to one account using a browser (such as Internet Explorer), and login to the second account using a different browser (such as Firefox).

  5. Will my RefWorks account expire?
    RefWorks accounts do not expire, so you will have life-long access to your RefWorks account. However, because UP provides off-campus access to RefWorks through our proxy server, alumni using RefWorks from off-campus will need to use the direct link to RefWorks, and will be prompted to enter the UP group code (contact library@up.edu for the group code).

  6. Can I keep my RefWorks account after I graduate or leave UP?
    Yes! RefWorks now allows lifelong access for alumni.
    • Using RefWorks from off-campus:
    • Using RefWorks from on-campus: alumni may use either the direct link to RefWorks (above), or the RefWorks link on the library home page. On-campus users will not be asked to enter a group code.

    Alumni may also choose to:

    1. Use the RefWorks Export feature to backup references as a text file that you can save on a local drive. Since the data is visible in these text files, you don't need RefWorks to retrieve your citations.
    2. If you are going to another institution that subscribes to RefWorks, use Backup/Restore to save the data from your UP account.

Getting citations into RefWorks:

  1. How many citations can I store in RefWorks?
    You may store an unlimited number of citations in your RefWorks account.

  2. How do I get citations into RefWorks?
    Most library databases allow you to export citations directly into RefWorks. See RefWorks' guidance on Importing From Online Data Vendors for instructions on how to export citations to RefWorks from a specific database.
     

    Alternatively, you can manually enter citations into RefWorks. Choose the "References" menu, then "Add New." Choose your citation style and the type of item you are citing, then enter the information about the source you wish to cite into the form.

  3. I previously used Endnote/ProCite/Reference Manager. Can I import my citations into RefWorks?
    Yes. Follow the instructions for Converting from Other Bibliographic Management Programs.

  4. Can I export citations from Google Scholar into RefWorks?
    Yes. You will need to access Google Scholar through the UP web site (using the link on our Databases A-Z page) so that you will be set up to connect to your UP RefWorks account.

    First, you need to set up Google Scholar to show the Import to RefWorks link:

    1. On the Google Scholar home page, choose the Settings link (in the upper center of the screen).
    2. Choose Library links (on the left side of the page).
    3. Search for: University of Portland
    4. Check all the boxes next to options that include University of Portland.
    5. Choose the Save button.

    Now, you are ready to import citations from Google Scholar to RefWorks. Or, choose the Import into RefWorks links beneath each result in Google Scholar.

  5. Can I export citations from UP Library Search to RefWorks from an off-campus computer?
    Yes. When you connect to RefWorks, just login with your username and password.

    However, if you have not yet created a RefWorks account, you will need to connect to UP's customized RefWorks login screen to create your account. Once you have a RefWorks account, you may send citations from UP Library Search to RefWorks from off-campus.

  6. I tried to export citations to RefWorks, but nothing happened.
    If you try to export citations from a library database to RefWorks, but nothing seems to happen, a likely cause is that a pop-up blocker is preventing RefWorks from opening a pop-up window to import your citations. This can particularly be an issue with the Safari browser, where there may not be a clear prompt that the pop-up blocker is preventing access to RefWorks. Learn how to disable pop-up blockers in many internet browsers.

Working with citations:

  1. How can I access the actual article?
    When you move a citation from a library database to RefWorks, it automatically brings in the citation and other details about the article, but it doesn't bring in the article itself. To access the article, you have two options:

    (1) Beneath each citation in RefWorks there will be a Get it @ UP link. When you select Get it @ UP, if the University of Portland has online access to this article you will be connected directly to the full text. If the University of Portland does not have access to this article, you will see the Get it @ UP screen which will indicate if the article is available in print or online via UP.

    (2) You may also choose to upload a PDF of an article to your RefWorks account. First, download the PDF of the article to your computer. In RefWorks, find the citation, and choose the Edit icon to edit the citation. Next to Attachments, choose the Browse button, find the PDF on your computer, and choose Open. The PDF will then be added to your RefWorks account. To access the PDF from RefWorks, find the citation, choose the Edit link, and in the Attachments area you will see a thumbnail and a link to your PDF.

    Note: Your RefWorks account provides up to 100Mb of storage for PDFs. The maximum size of any individual PDF is 20 Mb.

Write-n-Cite:

  1. What is Write-n-Cite?
    Write-n-Cite is a program that works as a bridge between your word processor (such as Microsoft Word) and RefWorks.  Write-n-Cite version 4 is fully integrated into Microsoft Word as a RefWorks tab.

    As you write your paper, use Write-n-Cite to insert in-text (parenthetical) citations or footnotes. When you are finished writing your paper, tell Write-n-Cite to create a pre-formatted bibliography of all the citations that you used throughout your paper.


  2. How do I download Write-n-Cite?
    To download Write-n-Cite, login to your RefWorks account, then from the Tools menu, choose Write-n-Cite. You will then see options for downloading Write-n-Cite for Windows or Mac. You will also see a login code; copy this code and save it for later; you will need it after you have installed Write-n-Cite.

    For more information about downloading Write-n-Cite, see:


  3. When I try to install Write-n-Cite version 4, I am prompted to install Microsoft Visual Studio Tools. Where can I download Microsoft Visual Studio Tools?
    Download: Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 Tools for Office Runtime.

    Note: After downloading and installing Microsoft Visual Studio Tools, you may need to run the Write-n-Cite install file again before Write-n-Cite will appear within Microsoft Word.


  4. How do I use Write-n-Cite from off-campus?

    When you attempt to login to Write-n-Cite you will be asked for either a Login Code or a Group code; these codes will allow you to access Write-n-Cite from off-campus.

  5. Write-n-Cite is asking me for a group code. Where do I get a group code?

    If you are being asked for a group code, often there are other solutions for accessing RefWorks which do not require a group code. Try the following tips:

    1. Make sure you are using UP's link to RefWorks; the link appears on the library home page as well as the Library tab in PilotsUP. Using these link will connect you to UP's subscription to RefWorks.
    2. When you login to Write-n-Cite you will be asked for either a Login Code or a Group Code. You can find your Login Code within your RefWorks account by following these steps:
      1. Go to the RefWorks web site, and login to your account.
      2. Choose the Tools menu, then choose Write-n-Cite.
      3. A window will appear where you can download Write-n-Cite; the Login Code is provided near the bottom of the window.

    Note: Alumni who wish to continue using RefWorks after graduation will still need to use a group code. Please email library@up.edu to request the group code.

  6. Write-n-Cite 4.0 is asking me for a login code. Where do I find the login code?
    Write-n-Cite 4.0 will ask you for either a Login Code or a Group Code when you try to open Write-n-Cite. You can find your Login Code within your online RefWorks account.
    1. Go to the RefWorks web site, and login to your account.
    2. Choose the Tools menu, then choose Write-n-Cite.
    3. A window will appear where you can download Write-n-Cite; the Login Code is provided near the bottom of the window.

  7. How can I create a footnote using Write-n-Cite?
    Using your word processor, insert a footnote (for example, in Microsoft Word 2007 or 2010 go to the "References" tab and choose the "Insert Footnote" button). Place your cursor in the footnote, then go to the RefWorks tab in Microsoft Word and choose Insert Citation.

  8. After I have created my paper using Write-n-Cite, can I go back and edit or add new citations?
    Yes. Just open the file you have already created, and add/remove citations or make other edits as needed. Any citations that you add to your paper will be automatically added to your bibliography.

  9. Can I use Write-n-Cite with Microsoft Word 2010?
    Yes, Write-n-Cite version 4 is compatible with Microsoft Word 2010.

    Tips for installing Write-n-Cite:

  10. Can I use Write-n-Cite with Windows 7?
    Yes.  Write-n-Cite is compatible with Windows 7.

  11. Can I use Write-n-Cite with Windows 8?
    Yes, Write-n-Cite version 4 is compatible with Windows 8.

  12. Write-n-Cite tip for Yosemite (Mac)
    Users of Yosemite (10.10): If you get a prompt that Java needs to be installed despite you installing it, you may need to install Java using this link from Apple.

Sharing citations:

  1. How can I share my citations with others?
    RefWorks has a feature called RefShare which allows you to easily share your citations with others. To use RefShare:
    • First, put your citations into a folder. Select the "New Folder" button. Enter the name for your folder, and choose "Create."
    • View your references (from the "View" menu, select "All References"). Check boxes for the references you wish to add to the folder, or select "Page" or "All in List" from the References tab above your list of references. Then from the "Add To" drop-down menu to the right of the References tab, select the folder you just created.
    • Choose the "Organize & Share Folders" tab to the right of the References tab. Choose the "Share Folder" icon (folder with green arrow) next to your folder, and on the next screen confirm your choice by selecting "Share."
    • On the "Shared Folder Options" screen, choose the settings for your folder (for example: whether or not to allow viewers to print, export, or post comments about your citations). Viewers will not be able to modify or add citations to your list. Choose the "Save" button.
    • Copy the URL under "Share Information" and email it to the people you want to share with.

Common citation style issues:

  1. Common issues with APA style citations:
    For the most accurate APA style citations, choose APA 6th - American Psychological Association, 6th Edition as your output style: These are a few common problems with APA-style citations created by RefWorks:
    1. In journal article citations, proper nouns in article titles will not be capitalized. RefWorks will only capitalize the first word in the title and subtitle of the article; you will need to correct this after creating the bibliography.
    2. Publisher's location should always include city and state; or for cities outside the U.S., city and country. Even well-known cities (such as New York or London) now need to include the city and state/country. RefWorks may not include the state/country in the citation. A sample citation is: DiGiulio, M., Jackson, D., & Keogh, J. E. (2007). Medical-surgical nursing demystified. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill.
    3. When using Write-n-Cite, in-text citations by default do not include page numbers. If you are including a direct quote which would require citing a specific page number, you need to insert your in-text citation via Write-n-Cite, then edit the citation to include the page number.
      • Using Write-n-Cite III: after inserting your citation, choose the Edit Citation link (in the upper right corner of the Write-n-Cite window). In the Text After box, enter: , p. #, (# is the page number you need to cite; the comma and space is necessary to separate the year of publication from the page number). For multiple pages, enter: , pp. #-#.
      • Using Write-n-Cite version 4: after inserting your citation, right-click your citation and select "Edit Citation." In the Suffix, enter: , p. #, (# is the page number you need to cite; the comma and space is necessary to separate the year of publication from the page number). For multiple pages, enter: , pp. #-#.

  2. Common issues with MLA style citations:
    For accurate citations in RefWorks, choose MLA 7th Edition as your style.

    These are a few common problems with MLA-style citations for online articles created by RefWorks:

    1. You will need to manually add the database name to your citations.
      To do this, view your references, then check mark one or more you wish to edit. Choose the "Global Edit" button. From the drop-down menu, choose "Database," and in the "Change Field to" box enter the database name (e.g. "MLA International Bibliography"). Choose the "Ok" button.
    2. You may also need to manually add the Retrieved Date to your citations. You can do this by following the process above to Globally Edit your citations; choose "Retrieved Date" from the drop-down menu. Enter the date in the following style: 26 Sept. 2009.

  3. Common issues with Chicago style citations:
    These are a few common problems with Chicago-style citations created by RefWorks:
    1. When citing a reference work that is arranged alphabetically, such as Anchor Bible Dictionary, the correct format for a footnote is:

      Footnote for citing one entry from a work arranged alphabetically:
      1. Anchor Bible Dictionary, s.v. "Moses."

      Footnote for citing two (or more) entries from a work arranged alphabetically:
      1. Anchor Bible Dictionary, s.vv. "Moses," "Exodus, Book of."

      RefWorks would incorrectly cite this source as a book chapter.
    2. When citing journal articles, RefWorks usually includes the month and year of publication (07, 2007). According to Chicago style, if an issue number is cited then the month can be omitted.
    3. For online article citations, RefWorks usually inserts a comma between the page numbers and database URL; according to Chicago style the appropriate punctuation mark is a period.

More help:

  1. How can I get help using RefWorks?
    Stop by the library in person, send us an email at library@up.edu, use Library Chat, call us at 503-943-7788, or for more in-depth help make an appointment to meet with a librarian.

library@up.edu | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798 | © 2017 University of Portland, All Rights Reserved