You can use RefWorks to collaborate by sharing folders with others at UP. At this time, they cannot be shared with people outside of UP. Also, your UP collaborators must have their own RefWorks account in order to view shared collections.
Directions with screenshots:
Choose the Share & Export icon or the Sharing menu item to start
Select the collection to be shared and with whom you will share it. If you share a collection that has subcollections, those will automatically be shared too.
Type the email address of the person (add one at a time) and select the level of access for the person you're inviting:
Read – view items and read documents
Annotate – view items, read documents, and annotate documents
Modify – view/read/annotate documents, edit existing annotations, add documents, remove documents, and add a note to an item
Optionally, add a personal note
Select the Share Collection button. Invitees will receive an email notification and need to log into their RefWorks account to see a shared collection.
Viewing a collection's sharing status
To see which collections you have shared, look for the sharing icon next to the collection name.
By selecting Sharing Settings from the menu, you can access the settings for your shared collection to modify them.
In the Sharing Settings you can also:
change the sharing from "private" to "institution" (which gives everyone in your institution access to your collection)
change individual access levels at any time after inviting someone
remove individuals from your collection by clicking the 'x' to the right of each address in the list
Sharing and Collaborating using Google Docs
Share your Google Doc with anyone who has a RefWorks account and in addition to adding and editing text, they can also add in-text citations and footnotes from their RefWorks account.
Note: Anyone you share your document with can also delete in-text citations you’ve included, however, they cannot delete references from your RefWorks account.