This page explains how to use Write-N-Cite with Word 2016 for Windows or watch the video.
Step 1. Logging In To Write-N-Cite
Tip: In most cases, there is no need to log out of Write-N-Cite when you are not using it. If you are using Write-N-Cite on a public computer without a personal login, you should log out of Write-N-Cite when you complete your work. If someone does gain access to a system with your RefWorks library logged in to Write-N-Cite, they will not be able to change anything in your account since Write-N-Cite doesn’t have any features to edit your items.
1. Click RefWorks from the Microsoft Word ribbon.
2. Click Log In.
3. Enter your RefWorks username and password.
The first time you log in to Write-N-Cite, it will automatically “sync” with your RefWorks library. This may take a few seconds. It is downloading your references and collections. Any time you make changes to your RefWorks items you can click Sync my Database your new and edited items will be added to Write-N-Cite.
During this period, you can still access all of Word’s functionality, but the Write-N-Cite functions will not become active until syncing has finished.
Step 2. Selecting Your Output Style
The first thing you will want to do is select an output style for your document. Any in-text citations or footnotes and your bibliography will be displayed in your document while you write your paper – in the output style you have selected. You can always change the style later if you need to.
1. Click the Style drop down. You will see a list of RefWorks' recent styles.
2. Click on the style name.
3. You can change your output style and the formatting of your paper at any time by clicking on another Style in the list and selecting a new output style. Access to other Styles can be gained by using Select Other Style at the bottom of the list.
Step 3. Write Your Paper and Inserting Citations or Footnotes and Your Bibliography
Note: You may want to sync your RefWorks library with Write-N-Cite if you have recently added items you want to use in your paper. Click the Sync my database icon to download new or updated items.
When you are ready to insert an in-text citation or footnote into your paper:
1. Click the Insert Citation and Insert New option to launch the insert/edit citation box. If you have previously used Write-N-Cite, you may see some recently selected citations listed above the Insert New option. You can select citations displayed from this list or access all your references from the Insert New option.
2. Once the Insert/Edit Citation box displays, you can access your items by Collection or by searching. The Search box will search every field.
Tip: Use the horizontal scroll bar to see the full title. Right-click on the item and select Show Full Reference Detail to display all fields of information (file attachments are not displayed).
Full Reference View:
3. Click on the item you wish to insert into your paper. You will see a preview of the formatted citation in your current Output Style.
Tip: Add more references to the citation using the plus icon, remove them by using the minus icon, or reorder the references with the up and down arrows in the Compose Citation area.
4. Click OK to insert your formatted citation into your paper.
5. To insert a footnote instead of an in-text citation, click the Make Footnote checkbox in the Edit References area. Once you make a footnote and finish editing the citation, you will not be able to undo this action. However, you can always add a new in-text citation.
6. You can insert your bibliography anywhere in your paper while you are writing. Click Bibliography Options, Insert Bibliography. Note: the bibliography will be inserted wherever the cursor is in your paper.
This page explains how to use ProQuest RefWorks with Google Docs or watch the video.
Continue to add citations and watch your bibliography update right in front of you.
You can also add footnotes (make sure your output style supports them!) by using Google Docs footnote option (Insert, Footnote):
Changing your output style
There are two ways you can change your output style for your paper:
Note: Custom output styles are currently not accessible.
Deleting or changing citations
Any additions, changes or deletions you make in your RefWorks account are automatically synched with the Google Docs Add-on.
Note: changes are NOT made to any in-text citations or the bibliography in your document.
Collaborating with others
Google makes it easy to collaborate with others on your paper. Now you can take that a step further, by collaborating with other RefWorks users!
Share your document with anyone who has a RefWorks account and in addition to adding and editing text to your document, they can also add in-text citations and footnotes from their RefWorks account.
There are two ways you can share your document with others.
To share your document with someone who does NOT have a RefWorks account
1. Click the share icon .
2. Enter the email address of the person you want to share with
3. The person will receive an email with a link to create a RefWorks account and then access your document with the “can edit” permission (you can modify the permission by clicking on the Share button and selecting “can comment” or “can view”)
You can even collaborate using the same set of references by sharing your RefWorks collection with your collaborators. Read more about sharing a collection.
Note: Anyone you share with can also delete in-text citations you included in your document however, they cannot delete references from your RefWorks account.
To share your document with someone who has a RefWorks account:
Click the Share button in the upper right-hand corner. The “Share settings” box will open with access to several options:
Via the Advanced settings you can change the access setting if desired (the default setting is “specific people”).
The Change link will allow you to modify how your document is shared.
Enter the email addresses of the people you wish to share the document with. If they do not have a RefWorks account, they will be asked to create one. You can even collaborate using the same set of references by sharing your RefWorks collection with your collaborators. Read more about sharing a collection.
Note: Anyone you share with can also delete in-text citations you’ve included in your document, however, they cannot delete references from your RefWorks account.
firstname.lastname@example.org | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798 | © 2017 University of Portland, All Rights Reserved