Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Plants and Medicine
Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Separate Health & Wellness database
rates effectiveness of specific diets and activities as well as some therapies.
The journal of the American Botanical Council; compiles scientific herbal data for medical professionals.
Full text of complementary and alternative medicine scholarly journals and general interest publications. 1990-
UP Library Search
Use UP Library Search to find books, DVDs, online resources, journal articles, and much more from the University of Portland, Summit, and beyond, and request to have physical items brought to the Clark Library's Service Desk. Visit UP Library Search Tips for advice on locating what you need.
If you can't come to campus, you can use UP Library Search to request items or chapters through Interlibrary Loan. Sign in to your UP Library Search account to see requesting options.
Plants and Food
NewCROP (Purdue University)
Use CropINDEX to find crops by Common Name or Genus Name.
Use CropSEARCH to look up information by crop name.
More Places to Search
Agriculture, horticulture, and animal science. Scholarly journals, books and more. Some full text. 1970-
Full text of biological, ecological, and environmental sciences research journals. 1998-
Academic Search Premier
Scholarly and general interest articles on many subjects. Some full text. 1975-
Full text multidisciplinary archive of core scholarly journals.
Tips for Searching in Library Databases
- Use Boolean Operators in your searches (AND, NOT, OR, etc.) to broaden or narrow a search
Use truncation (e.g., comput* instead of computer or computing) to include all word forms
Choose limiters to define time span, language, and type of resource, to filter out unwanted results
Look at the references of the articles you find to identify other useful sources
firstname.lastname@example.org | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
© 2020 University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com