Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Bets for Communication Studies
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
The largest collection of communication and mass media journals. Some full text.
Google Scholar can be a useful search tool, because you can search the full text of articles. Use it for these purposes:
- Locate articles when you feel stuck
- Identify a useful article, and bring it back to Communication Source (etc.), to see how it's described
- You might find usable subject terms, to help you find similar articles.
- A useful article can also give you an author to look up in Communication Source.
- Bring an article to Google Scholar from Clark Library databases, to find newer articles that cite it. See the Chain of Research page for details.
- Search within citing articles to make sure the newer articles are relevant.
Remember to check with your professor before you use articles from other fields/disciplines/journals.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Psychology and behavioral science journals, books, conference papers, and more. Some full text. 1887-
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business journals and magazines, as well as company, industry, country, and market research reports. Some full text. 1922-
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Leading resource for education. Some full text. 1966-
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Film and media studies, theory and history – journal articles, books, etc. (1972-current)
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology and related disciplines, including social work and criminal justice. Some full text. 1895-
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Sport, fitness, and physical education journal articles and books. Some full text. 1800-
firstname.lastname@example.org | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
Copyright © University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com