Library Guides: NRS 651: Epidemiology and Clinical Prevention in Population Health: Nursing Research Resources

Resources for Finding Nursing Research

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes Pre-CINAHL (most recent articles). Some full text. 1937-
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Biomedicine, veterinary medicine, pharmacology, microbiology, and genetics. 1949- . The most current Medline citations are available through PubMed.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and six other Cochrane Library databases covering the effects of interventions in health care, research methodology and evidence-based practice.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Psychology and behavioral science journals, books, conference papers, and more. Some full text. 1887-

When to Use Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a useful search tool, because you can search the full text of articles. Use it for these purposes:

Locate articles when you feel stuck
Identify a useful article, and bring it back to Clark Library databases to see how they describe it
- You might find the database subject terms, to help you find similar articles.
Bring an article to Google Scholar from Clark Library databases, to find newer articles that cite it.
- Search within citing articles to make sure the newer articles are relevant.

Advanced Searching for PICOT Questions

Don’t see a video? Try the direct link

Video transcript on separate page

Age Limiters in Library Databases

Some of the databases frequently used by NRS students have special limiters for different age groups; using these limiters is a great way to find articles about your specific population. Limiters can be items you select from a list (default) or text you enter in a search box (noted below).

Topic	CINAHL	ERIC	MEDLINE	PsycInfo
Infants & Toddlers	Infant, Newborn: birth-1 month Infant: 1-23 months All Infant	Infants^^ Neonates^^ Infant Behavior/Care/Mortality^^ Toddlers^^	Infant, Newborn: birth-1 month Infant: 1-23 months All Infant: birth-23 months	Neonatal (birth-1 mo) Infancy (2-23 mo)
Early childhood	Child, Preschool: 2-5 years Child, Preschool^^	Preschool Education Kindergarten	Child, Preschool: 2-5 years	Preschool Age (2-5 yrs)
Middle childhood	Child: 6-12 years	Elementary Education Primary Education Specific grades (Grade 1, Grade 2, etc.)	Child: 6-12 years	School Age (6-12 yrs)
Adolescence	Adolescent: 13-18 years	Junior High Schools Middle Schools High Schools Specific grades (Grade 6, Grade 7, etc.)	Adolescent: 13-18 years	Adolescence (13-17 yrs)
Early Adulthood	Young Adult^^ (19-24 years)	Higher Education	Young Adult: 19-44 yrs	Young Adulthood (18-29 yrs) Thirties (30-39 yrs)
Middle Adulthood	Middle Aged: 45-64 years	Adult Education	Middle Aged: 45-64 years	Middle Age (40-64 yrs)
Late Adulthood	Aged 65+ Aged, 80 and over		Aged: 65+ years Aged, 80 and over	Aged (65 yrs & older) Very Old (85 yrs & older)
End of Life	Hospice Patients^^ Hospice and Palliative Nursing^^		Palliative Care^^ Terminal Care^^	Palliative Care^^

^^Subject Heading rather than Age Group