Long-range sources provide a very broad overview of a topic; they don't provide a high level of detail.
Examples of long-range sources include:
Long-range sources should be academic sources that focus on the Bible, not general dictionaries (such as the Merriam-Webster Dictionary) or encyclopedias (such as Encyclopedia Britannica).
Online Bible Dictionary:
The Anchor Yale Bible DictionaryPrint Bible Dictionaries:
To use the print Bible dictionaries, you may either visit the library in-person and scan (or take photos with your phone) of the pages that you need, or request the chapter that you need through Interlibrary Loan. (For example, request the chapter on "Book of Exodus" or "Agriculture.")
The Anchor Bible Dictionary
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible
Chapter on "Mark, Gospel of" in A Dictionary of the Bible
Chapter on "Mark the Evangelist" from The Encyclopedia of ReligionWhen you search for your Biblical word in a biblical dictionary or encyclopedia, look for the English-language translation of your word, not the Hebrew word. The dictionaries/encyclopedias are organized by the English-language concepts. However, within the information about your concept, you should see a mention (or even a sub-section) about your Hebrew term.
Long-range sources, such as bible dictionaries, usually offer a brief overview of people who appear in the Bible, but the information is fairly superficial.
Another way to use long-range sources is to look up topics that help you to understand the character's social position and historical setting, such as:
library@up.edu | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
Copyright © University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com