This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content

University of Portland Clark Library

Transcripts for Clark Library Videos: Video Transcripts

How To: Set Up Interlibrary Loan [Transcript]

The Clark library gives you access to a lot of information, but there's still more available to you, and we can obtain it for you from other libraries. The Clark Library's interlibrary loan service, UP ILLiad, enables you to easily obtain items at no cost to you. You'll want to activate your UP ILLiad account to request those items, so here's how to do that. Starting at the library's homepage, select the Borrow & Request link on the left-hand side of the page. The Borrow & Request page has several links and UP ILLiad is the third one. Log in using your UP credentials. The setup screen will have your information already filled in. It's important to verify that your name, email address, and status are correct. You can change the other information if you want. Select the submit information button. And that's it! You're all set for when you need to place a request. You'll use UP ILLiad most often to request articles. It's also possible to request book chapters and whole books, and physical media, such as DVDs and CDs.

Watch video

Obtaining Electronic Versions of Books and DVDs [Transcript]

If you're looking for a specific book or video and you're not finding an electronic version through the Clark Library's eBooks and streaming videos, we can try to find an online version. So here's how to do that. Let's imagine that you're looking for a book called  "Terrible Lizard, the First Dinosaur Hunters." You'll want to search in the UP+ Summit part of the catalog so that you have the highest probability of finding the book that interests you. >> So you'll search for that book and here it is. Next, you'll choose the link to the book's full record and go to the yellow bar in about the middle of the page where it says "sign in." Select that link and sign in using your University of Portland credentials. And you'll see that the page has now changed. >> So there's a link to request the book through interlibrary loan. >> And that's how we're doing it. >> We're channeling all of the requests through our interlibrary loan service. You'll log in to the interlibrary loan system. And here's the book request pretty much all filled out. >> You see the authors are missing, so you might have to go back to see who the author is. >> And if you don't have that information, you can put N/A. >> So I filled that in and I noticed there's a message at the top of the page with more information. It says books will be evaluated for potential purchase as eBooks or as print books that will be directly mailed to the requester. >> So if we can't find an online version, we will locate a print book that we can mail directly to you. >> We will be in touch about all the details. So then you'll submit the request and we'll contact you.

Now if you're interested in a video, >> the process is very similar. So let's say you were interested in "Arctic Dinosaurs." You would search for it and select the link to the record. Sign in if necessary. But I'm already signed in from the previous book request, and choose the Request from Interlibrary Loan link. >> That link also goes to a book request, but we will be watching out to see if the request is for a book or for a video. Alternatively, you could use the media request form on the left to request the item. Either way, we'll be in touch and we'll do our best to get you the material that you need.

Sending EBSCO Citations to RefWorks

Welcome to this tutorial on adding EBSCO citations to RefWorks. To add EBSCO citations to RefWorks, identify useful items in your results list. Select the "Add to Folder" icon to the right of each citation that you want to send to RefWorks.I'll add this one, and this one. Note that the icon turns from blue to yellow. When you're done, look for the "Folder has Items" box. You'll find it at the right-hand side. Select the "Folder View" link. On the folder page, select the "Export" iconto send your citations to RefWorks.

On the next page, notice that the default option is RefWorks. Select "Save." Select "Export to New RefWorks." If you are using a personal computer, notice that you can check a box to avoid this step in the future. Log in to your RefWorks account if you're not already. Select "Ok." Your references should automatically be imported into RefWorks.

Thanks for watching. Please contact us - through any means that works for you - if you have questions.

How To: Use the Library Catalog [Transcript]

This video will introduce you to the Clark Library's library catalog, also called UP Library Search. You can access it through the search box in the middle of the library's homepage, library.up.edu. It's a great starting point for your research because it's a gateway to discovering millions of books, videos, articles, and more available to you through the Clark Library and beyond.UP Library Search contains several collections, and you can change the drop-down menu to search the one that's right for you. One search is for online resources like e-books and online articles. You can limit to the resources that we own with the UP Only search or expand to include Summit, which is a group of libraries in the Pacific Northwest that UP belongs to, that you can request books and videos from. The largest collection in UP Library Search adds articles to the mix. You can access the complete copy of many of those articles. So that's why you might use UP Library Search!

Watch Video

How To: Locate the Full Text [Transcript]

This video will show you how to obtain an entire source, the full text, when you've identified a useful item in the library databases that show you how to locate scholarly materials. As a reminder, you can identify the library databases that could be useful to you by using the library's subject and course guides. After you search, in many cases, the entire source will be included within your list of results. You might see HTML full text or PDF full text. HTML full text is on the same page as the full record for the article and it's presented as one long page. The PDF full text looks just like the original publication. And then sometimes in your results list, you will only see an abstract or a description and no full text, as shown here. In those cases, the full text is not far away. All you have to do is use the Get It @ UP link. The Get It @ UP tool searches our library subscriptions to locate the full text. When you select Get It @ UP, the next page will show you where the full text is available. You can see here that this item should be available online. If you select available online, you'll jump down the page to the View It section where the Get It Now links should connect you to a page where the item is available. Select a page link to connect and download the PDF.

If there are no links to full text or if a link does not connect you to the right place to get full text, then choose Request from Interlibrary Loan. We will get it for you from another library and deliver it within a few days. Log in using your UP credentials. If you've set up an account, the link takes you directly to a request form. Make sure the required information is filled in and submit the request. Within three days you should receive an email like this one with a link back to UP ILLiad, where the PDF of the article is ready for you. Log in to your account and choose Get PDFs on the left-hand side to download the PDF to your computer.

And that's how Get It @ UP can help you obtain the full text.

Watch video

How To: Find Course Readings [Transcript]

The library has a course reserves service that your professors can choose to use to make assigned course readings available to you in one place. This can be an alternative to purchasing or renting books and save you some money. There are a few ways to access this system. You can log on by choosing the Course Reserves tab from the library homepage, or connect through MyApps. If you use this service a lot, you can bookmark the direct URL (https://library.up.edu/reserves) in your browser. You might also see a link to course reserves from your class page in Moodle. Right before the beginning of a semester, log on to the library's course reserves system with your UP account to see what is there for your classes. If any of your courses do not appear there, that means those professors are not using the library's course reserves service. We do recommend checking the course reserves system throughout the semester as some professors add more readings later or start using the service. Course reserves items include books, book chapters, or articles. Currently, all course reserves are provided online, which is very convenient when you need to read them.

Watch video

Google Scholar

This tutorial will show you how to set up a connection between Google Scholar and the Clark Library so you will avoid situations like this one where you're asked to pay to access articles. This connection makes it easier for you to access full text through the library subscriptions as well as through our interlibrary loan service at no cost to you. 

Here's how to do it. >> Go to the three lines in the upper left of your search results page and select "Settings." On the Settings page, choose the "Library Links" tab, which might be on the left as shown here or across the top if you're on a smaller screen like on a mobile device.

Once you're on the Library Links page, type "Portland" into the search box and select the Search button. Choose University of Portland, check the box here. Then you'll want to save your settings, so choose the Save button. You'll return to your results page, where you can see now "GET it @ UP" links along the right hand side of the screen.Sometimes, as on the second page here, you don't have "GET it @ UP" links. Sometimes they're hidden. To see them, look for the double angle brackets. When you mouse over those, it says "more." Select any "GET it @ UP" linkto begin the process of obtaining full text. You'll go to a page where you might be able to access the article online, such as here. And if not, there will always be a link to request from interlibrary loan so that you can obtain the article at no cost to you. >> Contact us if you need help.

Saving Links to Online Resources

Hello and welcome to this tutorial about locating persistent links to library resources. >> Now first, why do you need a persistent link to a library resource? >> As you're doing your research as you start to find articles or other resources thatyou're interested in saving, you need a stable way to save links to those resources, whether it's so that you can get back to those resources yourself, or so that you can share links to those resources with others, such as a faculty member or suchas a partner on a project.

Now as an example, if I look at this first article, if I were to just bookmark this page, open it in a new tab, or try to save this URL in the address bar in the browser, this is not a stable link. >> This link will eventually timeout. >> So if I go and get a cup of coffee and come back to my computer, this page may no longer be available. >> Also, if I try to copy this link in the address bar and send it to anyone else to access from their computer, it will not work for them. >> So instead, look in most library databases for an option to get a persistent link. >> It may also be called a permalink, a stable link, document URL. >> It can go by slightly different names, but look for a way to get a link directly from the database.

 So in our EBSCO databases that we get a lot of our resources from this company. >> Look in the list of icons. >> This is usually where the persistent or permalink will be located, so where you can print, email, save, or cite the source. >> You are also likely to find an option for a permalink. >> When I click the permalink link, then I get this box that pops up that shows me the permalink or the stable link. >> I can click once in this box and then do a right-click and copy this link and then save it. >> Save it in a document, save it in an email, put it in a place that makes sense to you to keep track of these links. >> For another example; so here's a result from UP Library Search. >> Again, look for those iconswhere you can do different actions. >> Find the permalink. >> And then I can click the Copy Permalink to Record and copy it into my document or my email.

One more example from Gale Academic OneFile that has a slightly different name: Get Link. >> It's still in that row of icons. >> And when I click on Get Link, here is a link to this resource. >> Now one additional thing to keep in mind, some of these links are set up automatically to work from off campus. >> Others are not.>> If I go back to my first example from the EBSCO databases, this link starts with the login.ezproxy-eres.up.edu >> This is all a sign that this link is setup for off-campus access through UP.

My third example does not start with that login.ezproxy-eres.up.edu >> So this link is not automatically setup for off campus access. >> However, the library offers a resource with more information about persistent links and also with the tool that will help you quickly change these linksso they'll work from off campus. >> So the Persistent Links to Library Resources guide available at libguides.up.edu/persistent-links >> Here's more information about persistent links, why you might need them. >> And then on many of the pages you'll find this Off-Campus Link Generator where I can copy a link that doesn't automatically work from off campus, such as for my third example, >> I can paste it in this box and click Create Link. >> And now this link has been converted to have that login.ezproxy-eres.up.edu. >> So it has this prefix; it'll allow this link to work from off campus. >> And then other tabs on this guide will help you find more information about how to find the persistent or stable link and then how to edit it if needed.

So for example, for the article databases the Gale databases, that third example shows you how to find that Get Link. >> And then here's that off-campus link generator. >> And you'll find similar information for our article databases, our art and music databases, and our video databases, as well as UP Library Search.>> If you have questions about locating resources or getting persistent links, please get in contact with us at the library.>> Thank you.

Saving Items in UP Library Search

Hello and welcome to this tutorial about how to save items in UP Library Search. >> So as you're doing your research, and let's say today I'm searching for information about penguins. >> You might want a way to save items so that you can get back to them later. >> The first thing that I recommend is when you first connect to UP Library Search, sign into your account, so that as your saving items, you're saving them under your own account, so that you can easily access them later. >> And you can sign in either by using the Sign in link in this yellow bar beneath the search box, or choose the Sign in link in the upper right corner of the screen.

So I'm going to choose the Sign in link. >> Choose UP Students, Faculty, and Staff. >> Sign in with my UP username and password. >> Choose that Sign in button. >> And now I'm connected to my account, which I can confirm because I see my name in the upper right corner of the screen. >> Okay, now I'm ready to start saving items, and I can do that in a couple different ways. From my list of search results, I have a pin icon. When I hover over it, it says Save to My Favorites. >> And so I can click on it and you can see it's going to save my item to My Favorites, which is this big pin icon at the top of the page. >> Ok, that's one easy way to save.

Another option is if youchoose the title of any item in your search results to see the full record or the full information about the item. >> You also will see a pin icon in the upper right corner of the screen that also allows you to save to My Favorites. >> So I'm going to choose that. >> And now, let's see, I'm ready to look at the items that I've been saving. >> So I can just go to that big pin icon to go to My Favorites. >> And I'll click that My Favorites pin icon. >> And now I will see a list of all the items that I've saved. >> So I have these two items that I've saved today are at the top of my list. >> And if I scroll a little bit further down,I also will see older items that I previously had saved to My Favorites. I hope this helps you to know how to save items in UP Library Search. >> As you're doing your research, if you have questions, please get in contact with us at the library. >> Thank you.

How To: Access Research Guides [Transcript]

Want to take a Do It Yourself approach to locating the information sources you need? The most effective way to find academic sources is to use the Clark Library's research guides that you'll find front and center on the library's homepage, library.up.edu. The guides are great starting points for your research because they'll help you quickly identify the most helpful library search tools to find the kinds of sources needed for many class assignments. Subject guides orient you to the library databases and other quality sources supporting UP's majors and minors. Within each guide, for example, biology, you'll find pages to help you locate specific types of sources, such as articles or videos, or to orient you to a specific area of study, such as anatomy and physiology in this guide. All the subject guides will also have tips on citing sources in your assignments. Give yourself an advantage in academic research by getting to know the subject guides in your areas of interest. Course Guides support specific courses, often ones that have a guest visit from a librarian to teach you about research. For courses with multiple sections, for example, Theology 205, There might be a guide for each professor if their approaches to teaching are different. Course guides might also give you searching tips that will save you time in finding the information you need, or as on this page, remind you how to obtain that information. The best part is the course guides are always available, and you can revisit them at any time.

Watch video

Access Your Course Reserves

How can you access your course reserves? Start at the Library Homepage and select the Course Reserves tab. Then choose the link labeled “Access Course Reserves”. Now enter your UP/Pilots credentials and select the” login to course reserves” button. If you have current courses, they will appear automatically on your main menu page. You can also choose the “view upcoming courses link,” in order to view any upcoming course materials that have been posted.

Hover over the title of the course that you would like to view, until it is highlighted in yellow, and select the “course home” link.You’ll see the items on reserve for this course. Feel free to sort the list as you choose, by selecting any of the headings on the blue, horizontal top bar. To access a specific reading, hover over it until it is highlighted in yellow, then select the “view item” link. At this point, you should be directed to the appropriate webpage or PDF. Thank you for listening to this tutorial.If you have questions, please contact the Circulation Department.

Access Past Course Reserves and Usage Data

How can you view your old course lists as well as the usage data for each item? On your main menu page in the course reserves system, select the “previous courses” link under the “instructor tools” option on the left side of the page. You’ll see a list of your past courses. Hover over the title of the course you would like to view, until it is highlighted in yellow.Now select the “course home” link to launch the list. You can sort the list if you like, by selecting any of the headings on the blue, horizontal top bar.

For example, select “article/chapter title” to sort readings by that element. For example, select “article/chapter title” to sort readings by that element. If you would like to see the usage data for your readings, navigate to the “instructor course tools” option on the left hand side of the screen and select the “reserve item usage” link. As soon as you select this link, the list will include usage data in the far right column. Thank you for watching this tutorial. If you have questions, please contact the Circulation Department.

NAICS

Welcome to this tutorial about the NAICS System. The North American Industry Classification System, also known as "NAICS," is a system used to organize and statistically record data for businesses that produce goods and resources in the economies of the United States, Canada, and Mexico. Many government and library information sources use NAICS to organize industry data and reports, so knowing your NAICS code can save you time and get you directly to the data and reports you need.

How does it work? In order to classify and keep track of the statistics from each business, NAICS uses a coding system that starts with 2-digit sectors of the economy, which are shown here, and extends to 6 digits. The two digit code signifies the sector a business falls into, such as agriculture, manufacturing, retail, or healthcare. Let's see what the system looks like using the manufacturing sector as an example. The manufacturing sector is represented by 3 two-digit codes. Today we'll look at the system for code 31. Within the system, a code becomes more specific as the number of digits increases.

A three-digit code specifies any industry within the manufacturing sector 31, such as food manufacturing, 311. A four-digit code would then further specify that industry. So if the industry you are searching is food manufacturing,the four-digit code would signify the type of food, such as 3113 Sugar and Confectionary, or Candy, Manufacturing. A five-digit code would then specify the type of sugar or confectionary, such as 31134 for Nonchocolate confectionary or 31135 for Chocolate. The 5-digit codes are common to the 3 countries that use NAICS. Each country can create customized 6-digit codes, such as here where the United States makes a distinction between chocolate made from cacao beans or candy made from purchased chocolate. A NAICS code is complete when it is six-digits long. To learn how to look up the NAICS codes that will be useful to you and your research, please watch the next video in this series. Thanks for watching! If you have any questions, please ask a reference librarian.

Natural Medicines

Welcome to this tutorial on connecting to full text from the Natural Medicines database using PubMed. The Natural Medicines database is an authoritative resource for information about complementary and alternative medicine. Within each tool you’ll find the level of evidence with citations to support use of each therapy for certain medical conditions and for contraindications. The Natural Medicines editorial staff have created a tutorial about using the database, so this tutorial will focus on obtaining the full text. As our example, we're going to look at a report about nasal irrigation and in the Professional Monograph look at the Mechanism of Action. Throughout the text you’ll see 5-digit numbers in blue, in this case 16135 and 16136. These are identification numbers for citations on the Natural Medicines bibliography of evidence. If we choose one, we'll see the entries for 16135 and 16136 in the Natural Medicines bibliography.

The first one has no link because it is a citation to another database maintained by the company that produces Natural Medicines, but the second one (16136) has a “View abstract” link that will take you to the PubMed record for the citation. PubMed is a publicly-available index to biomedical publications produced by the National Library of Medicine. You might know its closely-related subscription version, MEDLINE. If I choose the "View abstract" link, I'll go to the PubMed record. Notice in the upper right-hand corner that there are two Full text links. These will take you to the full text of the article.Occasionally the PubMed record will not have a Full Text Link, or the Full Text link will take you to a page that tells you to pay for the article. In this case you might be able to find the article elsewhere, or you can order the article through interlibrary loan. You can find out if these outcomes are possible by traveling through the library’s special connection to PubMed. This might seem daunting, but it will save you time.

Here’s how to do it: First, note the PMID. This is a unique number for each PubMed record. Then, go to the library’s alphabetical listing of databases and select the link to PubMed.Enter the PMID in the PubMed search box as shown here, and select "Search". The result will have a “Get it @ UP” button that will either take you to the full text of the article, or to a page from which you can order the article through interlibrary loan. In this case, the article is not available, but we have a link then to UP ILLiad, the University's interlibrary loan system.At this point you would log in to your UP ILLiad account, and the form will all be filled out for you, except for of course the "Need by" date. And that should save you some time. Thanks for watching! If you have any questions, ask a reference librarian.

Searching for Current Issues of the New York Times or Wall Street Journal

This short tutorial will help you access the New York Times content online, especially the current content. >> In order to do that, go to the library homepage and then choose the A to Z Databases link beneath the search box. >> From here, choose the letter N, and you'll have an alphabetical list of all of our databases >> that start with the letter n. >> There are three entries for the New York Times. >> The middle one is the Academic Passes program that's provided by the provost's office, residence life, and ASUP. That program has 75 passes that last for 24 hours. >> Now, with everyone being off campus, the passes are probably being used more than they might have been in the past. >> So if you can't access an academic pass, the library also subscribes to the current content for the New York Times through a third party provider.We land on this advanced searching screen.

So one way to... say you want to look at today's issue. One way to do that is to choose the publication date drop-down, choose "on this date," and then you go through the options and choose March.>> It's the last day of March 2020. And you don't have to enter any search terms. >> So I'm just going to hit search. So I have a 193 results. This includes the New York Times East Coast edition, so the print newspaper, as well as entries in their blogs, The New York Times blog, podcasts, websites. >> So it's a combination of content here. If I just want to look at what was in the newspaper print edition, I choose that link and now I see a list. I had previously been in here and already sorted it by "oldest first" in order to get it to show me the articles in chronological order by page. So I'm seeing section A, first page and then I'll go down through the pages and into section B. >> So to do that, you need to have this sorted by "oldest first." >> The default when you first get to this page will be Relevance, and then that will not be in page order as you can see here.

A second way to get to issues is to ignore the search screen and choose Publications at the top. This gives you entries for each of the New York Times publications that they're representing in this database. >> So I could look specifically at what was in the New York Times online. >> But for this, I'm going to go back to looking at what's in the print edition. And on this page, scroll down, then you can drill down and explore by specific days. >> So this would be another way if I wanted to look at today's issue or earlier in this week, or other weeks, or months. >> It does default here to page order. >> So I am seeing it listed by the articles that were appearing on the front page.

Those are two ways to get to current issues of the New York Times when you can't get an Academic Pass, The articles, keep in mind, are text only, so it will not include any photographs or the nice formatting that you would see in a print newspaper. >> But otherwise the text is the text that did appear in the newspaper. >> Please contact the library if you have questions about using the New York Times, or accessing articles, or any other questions.

Finding eBooks and Streaming Media

To locate e-books and streaming media through the through the Clark library.You might use the UP library search catalog as one useful tool. You'll want to change your search. The default is the UP + Summit + articles. So change to UP only to be sure you're accessing the things that we own and, and then you'll run whatever search.

So today I'm interested in "ants," and you'll search and your results might include some electronic things already. But to be sure that you're only looking at electronic content, you'll come over to the left-hand side of the screen and the format list. And you might have to choose Show More to see a full list of formats. eBooks is one option, and streaming video and audio is another. You can select both of those or either one that's relevant to me.  Then I'll come down to the bottom and choose the Apply Filters button. And now my results are all electronic and available to me online.

How to Set Up a New York Times (ProQuest) Alert

Here's how to set up an alert to the New York Times to be informed of each day's stories. First, you need to go to the database, And one way is to start at the Library homepage, library.up.edu, and select the "A to Z Databases" link below the search box. Then we'll go to the "N" page for New York Times. Notice that there are two options. This one is the historical database and this other one has the current content. So you'll select this link. After you arrive at the database, instead of running a search, you'll choose "Publications" and choose from the six New York Times publications that are part of the database. So you can see those here. For this example, I'll select the first one. You do have to set up a separate alert for each publication. On the next page, you'll select Create Alert. And to keep the alerts to a minimum, select "Only when full text is available." Enter your email address, change the subject line, add a message if you want. You might set the alert to last for a year. And also notice that you'll receive a reminder when the alert is about to expire. Then select "Create Alert." You'll receive a message in your inbox asking you to confirm the subscription. And after you do that, you're all set. You'll receive an alert each morning.
Direct Link

library@up.edu | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798 | © 2020 University of Portland, All Rights Reserved