Library Guides: Archaeology: Sources

Welcome

This guide highlights resources related to study of the ancient world and classical civilization. It includes background sources, as well as databases for searching the published literature, along with resources for analytical techniques, high resolution images, and more about UP's involvement with the Pollentia site in Mallorca, Spain.

Books

A Dictionary of Archaeology
Call Number: Available online
Encyclopedia of Global Archaeology
Call Number: Available online
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Archaeology
Call Number: Available online
Insights from Archaeology: Reading the Bible in the 21st Century
Call Number: Book Stacks BS621 .F54 2017
The Old Testament in Archaeology and History
Call Number: Book Stacks BS621 .O43 2017
The Oxford Dictionary of Late Antiquity
Call Number: Available online

Journals & Magazines

JSTOR: Archaeology Journals
A collection of over 100 journals covering the field of archaeology.
Journal of Eastern Mediterranean Archaeology and Heritage Studies
Mediterranean Archaeology & Archaeometry
Biblical Archaeology Review
Archaeology Odyssey

Databases

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
Religion and theology journals and books written in Western languages. See a tutorial about searching for biblical scripture citations. Some full text. 1949-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
World history, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Some full text. 1954-
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Biochemistry, chemistry, and chemical engineering journals, patents, conference proceedings and more. Requires registration for an individual account before using.

Videos

Archaeology: An Introduction to the World's Greatest Sites
This is part of the Great Courses series and has 24 lectures (videos), produced in partnership with National Geographic.
Docuseek | Archaeology
Academic Video Online | Archaeology
Films on Demand | Archaeology
Kanopy | Archaeology

Learn About Showing DVDs/Videos on Campus

See the Clark Library's Showing DVDs/Videos on Campus page to get answers to FAQs. If your answer is not found on that page, please contact library@up.edu for assistance.