Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sources that teach you more about a topic:
- Specialized encyclopedias
- Textbooks / Introductory Books
- Lab Manual
- Review articles in journals (also known as "secondary" articles)
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of online reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.) covering the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
TIP: Enter the name of a disease or medical condition.
TIP: Longer entries have linked references at the end that can connect you to other useful sources.
In the sciences and medicine, the research literature includes:
- Research articles in journals (also known as "primary" articles)
- Papers presented at professional conferences and meetings
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Biomedicine, veterinary medicine, pharmacology, microbiology, and genetics. 1949- . The most current Medline citations are available through PubMed
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Sport, fitness, and physical education journal articles and books. Some full text. 1800-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and six other Cochrane Library databases covering the effects of interventions in health care, research methodology and evidence-based practice.
firstname.lastname@example.org | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
Copyright © University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com