Library Guides: ME 462 / BME 562: Biomechanics: Standards

What is a standard?

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) defines it as:

A standard is a document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose.

Standards are produced and/or adopted by national standards organizations, professional associations or societies, international standards organizations, or private companies.

Identifying a standard

FDA: Medical Devices Standards Database
Searchable index of Consensus Standards related to medical devices from a variety of standards organizations. Provided by the FDA's Center of Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH).
ANSI IBR Standards Portal
The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal provides a one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). These standards incorporated by the U.S. government in rulemakings are offered at no cost in “read only” format and are presented for online reading. There are no print or download options.

Where are they?

There are many organizations that publish and sell standards. The Clark Library subscribes to couple of databases that provide full text access to standards from ASTM and IEEE.

ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
Full text of American Society for Testing Materials (ASTM) Book of Standards, journal articles, manuals, symposia papers and more.
Tip: After doing a search, select the MySubscription Only box on the left sidebar to limit results to full text available through the Clark Library subscription.

IEEE Published Standards
Online access to current IEEE standards available through the IEEE Xplore Digital Library.

Search for standards available through Summit libraries

Tip: Search by the title or standard number.