Web Sites - Copy of Finding Research Instruments from UMass - Dartmouth

Using Google

Consider using one of the Google search engines (cautiously) when searching for instruments. Remember, things you find on the web may or may not be accurate, and finding an instrument in this way (or any other) does not mean you automatically have permission to use it.

Google Books may help you determine in which book an instrument may have been published.

Google Books
Searches the contents of books; shows the full-text, excerpts, or just publication information about a book, depending on its copyright status.

Google Scholar may be useful for finding articles in which your instrument is mentioned.

Google Scholar
Searches a wide variety of sources, primarily scholarly articles, some of which may be available in full-text. Google Scholar is not a substitute for using a library database, but is worthwhile as a supplement to the library's tools.

Tools For Finding Research Instruments

Below are a few examples of web sites offering databases or lists of research instruments. The directories of research instrument web sites above include links to many others.

ETS Test Link
A database of information on more than 25,000 standardized tests and research instruments, produced from the early 1900s to the present.
Health Literacy Tool Shed
An online database of instruments to measure individuals' health literacy. Instruments are identified from the peer-reviewed literature.
National Quality Measures Clearinghouse
NQMC is a public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets.
Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences
An index to tests and measurement tools used in psychology, sociology, health, marketing, management, etc. compiled in reference resources.

Looking for more web sites that offer research instruments on specific topics? Try one of the sites below for further options.

ClinicalTrials.gov
Some entries in this government database of clinical trials include which instruments are being used in those studies. The names of the instruments would appear in the "outcome measures" sections of a clinical trial record.
Finding Tests & Measurement Instruments: Additional Resources by Discipline
A list of web sites with databases of research instruments, on both health and psychosocial topics. Provided by the University of Michigan Library.
Research Instruments, Surveys & Tools
A list of web sites with databases of research instruments, primarily on health topics. Provided by the Cheng Library at William Paterson University.

Copy of Finding Research Instruments from UMass - Dartmouth: Web Sites

Using Google

Tools For Finding Research Instruments