Library Guides: ENG 107: College Writing (Buck-Perry): Finding Reviews

Avoid Paywalls and Article Limits! The Library Has Review Articles --

Open Web Search Tip: Search Rotten Tomatoes (look up the title of the movie or show, then scroll to the Critic Reviews section and choose Top Critics)

Closed/Subscription Web sources, compliments of Clark Library:

America's News
Full-text U.S. newspaper articles. 1978-

New York Times
Full text of the New York Times. 1980 - present. Learn how to find current issues online.

Oregonian Collection with Historical Archive
Full text articles from The Oregonian from 1861-present. Includes images (1861-1987; 2017-present), blogs (2005-2018) and web edition articles (2012-present).

USA Today (newspaper)
2003 to present.
Variety (magazine)

Wall Street Journal
Full text for this financial newspaper of record with in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as news. 1984 - present. Learn how to find current issues online.
Washington Post
Current access to articles from The Washington Post from 2014 - present. Access is also available to articles from Washingtonpost.com from 2002 - present.

UP Library Search

Use UP Library Search to find books, DVDs, streaming videos, and articles - including reviews published in newspapers, magazines, and journals.

TIP: To search for reviews, use the title of the work. Put multiword titles in quotes, e.g., "Moonrise Kingdom". You can also add the words ("film review*" OR "movie review*" OR reviews) .

TIP:

If you find a review that isn't available for free, use UP Library Search to look up the title of the publication where the review appeared.
If you get a match, look at the full record to see if it is available to you online or in the Clark Library.
If not, then you should see a link to request it through Interlibrary Loan.