Skip to Main Content
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress portal is a gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library aims to "bring together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and make them freely available to the world."
A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of American magazines and journals covering 1741-1940.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published from 1878 to 2012, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Resources in American History
From the National Archives, links to many primary and secondary sources.
Women and Social Movements Library This link opens in a new window
Full text documents, images, and primary sources about women's public activism globally from 1600-present. Includes collections covering: U.S. (1600-2000); International (1840-present); and Modern Empires (since 1820).
See the "Primary Sources" page on the History Subject Guide for more ideas.
Articles about Any Topic
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest articles on many subjects. Some full text. 1975-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
American & Canadian history books and journals. Some full text. 1964-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text multidisciplinary archive of core scholarly journals.
Contemporary / Primary Sources
firstname.lastname@example.org | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
Copyright © University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com