Skip to Main Content

ENG 302: 19th-Century British Literature Survey

Class Activity

Group activity document for today's class

Word Study

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Word meanings and origins.

Rhetorical Analysis

The Forest of Rhetoric
A guide to the terms of classical and Renaissance rhetoric

Biographical Information

Search UP Library Search for: [author name] biography

Example: Jane Austen biography

British Authors of the Nineteenth Century
Call Number: Book Stacks PR451 .K8 1936

Publication History and Reception

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search the collections of libraries across the U.S., as well as some international libraries.

Google Books

Sources and Influences

The Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of The Times (of London) from 1785-2019. For similar content, see The Sunday Times Digital Archive (full text of The Sunday Times from 1822-2021).

Two tips for searching the Times Digital Archive:

Use the Publication date limiter (beneath the search boxes) to limit your search by date:

On the search results screen, change Sort by from Oldest to Relevance to bring the best articles (that mention your words most frequently and/or in the title of the article) to the top of the results:

Annotated Bibliography / Academic Essays about Literature

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text multidisciplinary archive of core scholarly journals.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
International literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Some full text. 1926-

library@up.edu | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
Copyright © University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com