Library Guides: ENV 162: Introduction to Oceanography: Peer Reviewed Sources

Definition

Many journals publish peer reviewed articles. The articles are written for an expert audience and the authors have advanced degrees in their fields. Journal articles describe studies and findings, review the state of knowledge in a specific area, or present theories. An editor oversees the journal publication process and enlists other experts to provide peer review for submitted papers. The goal is to ensure that the most scientifically sound and relevant papers are selected and published.

What is Peer Review?

Finding Journal Articles

ProQuest Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database‎ This link opens in a new window
Earth science, aquatic resources, meteorology, climatology, hydrology, and glaciology journal articles. Some full text. 1950-
ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Environmental science, ecology, biotechnology, toxicology and water resources journal articles. Some full text. 1970-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Environment and its connections to agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. Some full text.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest articles on many subjects. Some full text. 1975-
Google Scholar (with Get it @ UP) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles across many disciplines. This Google Scholar includes Get it @ UP links in results so you can easily connect to full text available through the Clark Library. Activate this feature in your version of Google Scholar (see: how to connect Google Scholar to UP's full text).

ENV 162: Introduction to Oceanography: Peer Reviewed Sources

Definition

What is Peer Review?

Finding Journal Articles

Recognizing a Research Article