Library Guides: Gender, Women, &amp; Sexuality Studies: Primary Sources

What is a Primary Source?

Primary sources are the raw material that you will analyze and interpret to better understand the past. They are produced during the time of the event or phenomenon you are investigating and will bring you as close to the past as is possible. Primary sources can take many forms including the words of participants or eyewitness descriptions, official records or governments or organizations, photographs, film or other media, and artifacts.

On this page you'll find help locating primary sources in newspapers, books (via UP Library Search), magazines, and online collections.

UP Library Search: Search UP + Summit

Use UP Library Search to find books, streaming videos, online resources, journal articles, and much more (Search Tips). Need help? See handouts for Finding Books on the Shelf and Requesting Clark Library and Summit Items online.

Search Terms for Primary Sources

Add one of these terms to your search to find primary sources. For example: Oregon pioneer sources

Bibliography
Charters, Grants, Privileges
Correspondence
Description and Travel
Diaries

Interviews
Pamphlets
Personal Narratives
Sources
Speeches

Databases

The International Women's Movement: The Pan Pacific Southeast Asia Women's Association of the USA, 1950-1985 (Archives Unbound)
Conference proceedings, minutes, reports, photographs, and other materials created by the Pan Pacific Southeast Asia Women's Association of the USA between 1950-1985.
International Women's Periodicals, 1786-1933: Social and Political Issues (Archives Unbound)
Periodicals reflecting the lives, roles, and concerns of women, published between 1786-1933.

Routledge Historical Resources: History of Feminism This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary resources about feminism from 1776–1928.
Women and Social Movements Library This link opens in a new window
Full text documents, images, and primary sources about women's public activism globally from 1600-present. Includes collections covering: U.S. (1600-2000); International (1840-present); and Modern Empires (since 1820).

Women's Issues and Their Advocacy Within the White House, 1974-1977 (Archives Unbound)
This collection documents Patricia Lindh’s and Jeanne Holm’s liaison with women’s groups and their advocacy within the White House on issues of special interest to women. It includes material accumulated by presidential Counselor Anne Armstrong and Office of Women’s Programs Director Karen Keesling.
Women Organizing Transnationally: The Committee of Correspondence, 1952-1969 (Archives Unbound)
Correspondence, records, minutes, and publications from The Committee of Correspondence, which advocated for women's involvement in foreign policy.

Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of 12 magazines: Better Homes & Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, Town & Country, WIN News, and Woman's Day. Coverage varies for each publication between 1846-2005.
Women’s Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of primary sources from the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College focused on rights for women as well as women involved in national politics.

Women, War and Society, 1914-1918 (Archives Unbound)
Documents showing British women's perspectives on World War I, including pamphlets, reports, photographs, magazines, correspondence, and more.