Library Guides: Nursing &amp; Health Innovations: Integrative Health

Databases

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of complementary and alternative medicine scholarly journals and general interest publications. 1990-
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Health information (including alternative health) compiled from reference books, journals, videos and pamphlets. Full text. 1980-
NatMed This link opens in a new window
Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Separate Health & Wellness database rates effectiveness of specific diets and activities as well as some therapies.

MedlinePlus Herbs and Supplements
Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions. Includes references for further research.
Complementary Medicine @ MEDLINE
Search pre-limited to Complementary Medicine.
Information is Beautiful: Snake Oil Supplements
"Scientific evidence for popular health supplements: Showing tangible human health benefits when taken orally by an adult with a healthy diet"

Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
Call Number: Available online
For the educated layperson. References are a mix of popular and scholarly books and articles.

HerbalGram
Published by the American Botanical Council, compiles reliable scientific herbal data for medical professionals.

Leung's Encyclopedia of Common Natural Ingredients
Call Number: Available online
Presents research findings as of 2010 on a wide variety of ingredients.

American Holistic Nurses Association
Provides resources for specific illnesses, and a list of holistic associations and organizations.

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.