These are transcripts for videos in this orientation guide. They are listed alphabetically by the title of the video.
Welcome to UP. I'm Diane Sotak and I'm a reference and instruction librarian. That basically means that I'm here to help you with finding and using information throughout your college career. I meet with classes and also one-on-one with students. I can give you lots of strategies and tips to save you time. Hello, my name is Stephanie Michel and I'm a reference and instruction librarian. That means I specialize in helping students with their research. So you might see me as a guest speaker in one of your classes talking about how to do research in that discipline. Or you might meet with me individually through a research consultation. My goal is to help make your research more efficient and effective. Welcome. My name is Vickie Hamilton. I'm one of the supervisors at the main circulation desk. I can help you find, checkout, and renew a book, and help you with course reserves. Hi, my name is Heidi Senior and I'm one of the reference and instruction librarians. You might see me as a guest speaker in some of your classes. Or you could make an appointment with me for personalized research help. Hi, my name is Haylee Croydon, and I'm part of the circulation supervisor team. I'm here to help you navigate the library, check out materials, and also utilize our study spaces. Hello everyone. My name is José Velazco and I work as the library's Digital Lab Coordinator. I, along with our student staff, provide you with access to a variety of equipment, including cameras, tripods, and sound recorders. I'm also here to help you with photography, design, video, and audio software. Thank you for your time.
Want to take a Do It Yourself approach to locating the information sources you need? The most effective way to find academic sources is to use the Clark Library's research guides that you'll find front and center on the library's homepage, library.up.edu.
The guides are great starting points for your research because they'll help you quickly identify the most helpful library search tools to find the kinds of sources needed for many class assignments. Subject guides orient you to the library databases and other quality sources supporting UP's majors and minors. Within each guide, for example, biology, you'll find pages to help you locate specific types of sources, such as articles or videos, or to orient you to a specific area of study, such as anatomy and physiology in this guide. All the subject guides will also have tips on citing sources in your assignments. Give yourself an advantage in academic research by getting to know the subject guides in your areas of interest.
Course Guides support specific courses, often ones that have a guest visit from a librarian to teach you about research. For courses with multiple sections, for example, Theology 205, There might be a guide for each professor if their approaches to teaching are different. Course guides might also give you searching tips that will save you time in finding the information you need, or as on this page, remind you how to obtain that information. The best part is the course guides are always available, and you can revisit them at any time.
The library has a course reserves service that your professors can choose to use to make assigned course readings available to you in one place. This can be an alternative to purchasing or renting books and save you some money.
There are a few ways to access the system. You can log on by choosing course reserves from the library homepage, or connect through MyApps. Scroll down and choose library course reserves. If you use the service a lot, you can bookmark the direct URL (library.up.edu/reserves) in your browser. You might also see a link to course reserves from your class page in Moodle.
We recommend that right before the start of a semester, you log onto the library course reserves system with your UP account to see what is there for your classes. If any of your courses are not in the list, that usually means those professors opted not to use the Library's course reserve service. However, we do recommend checking course reserves throughout the semester as some professors add more readings later or start using the service.
Course reserves items can include a range of sources, such as books, book chapters, articles, and websites. Many are available online, which is very convenient when you need to read them. If you are local, some are available as print items that you can check out from the library service desk and borrow for a limited time. Those items will have a call number rather than online for the location. You can also activate an alert to receive emails if your professor adds any new items to course reserves.
This video will show you how to locate an entire source, the full text, when you've identified a useful item in the library databases that help you locate scholarly materials. As reminder, you can identify the library databases that could be useful to you by using the library's subject and course guides.
After you search. In many cases, the entire source will be included within your list of results. You might see HTML full text or PDF full-text. The HTML full text is on the same page as the article information. It's presented as one long page. The PDF full text looks just like the original publication.
Sometimes when you select an article title, you will only see an abstract or a description and no full text. In those cases, the full text is not far away! All you have to do is use the Get It @ UP link. The Get it @ UP tool searches the Clark Library subscriptions to find the full text.
After you select Get It @ UP, the next page shows you where the full text is available. Select a link under "Get it now" to connect and download it.
If you select the Get It @ UP tool and there are no links to full text, or if a link does not connect you to the right place to obtain the full text, then choose the "Request from interlibrary loan" link. We will get it from another library and deliver it to you within a few days. Log in using your University of Portland credentials. If you've set up an account, the link takes you directly to a request form. Make sure the required information is filled in and submit the request.
Within three days or so, you should receive an email with a link back to the interlibrary loan service, where the PDF of the article is ready for you. Log in, and then you can download it to your computer. The PDF will leave your account after 30 days, or you can delete it before then.
The Clark Library gives you access to a lot of information, but there's still more available to you, and we can obtain it for you from another library. The Clark Library's interlibrary loan service UP ILLiad enables you to easily request items at no cost to you. You'll want to activate your UP Illiad account. Here's how to do that.
Starting from the library's homepage, select "Borrow and Request" from the left side of the screen, or in the section menu on a smartphone. The UP ILLiad link is the third one on the page. Log in using your UP credentials. The setup screen will have your information already filled out. It's important to verify that your name, your email address, and your status are correct. You can change the other information if you want. Select the "Submit Information" button. And that's it. You're all set for when you need to place requests.
If you ever need to update your profile, you can come back and select my account and then update your information. You'll use UP ILLiad most often to request articles. It's also possible to request book chapters and whole books, and physical media such as DVDs and CDs.
This video will introduce you to the Clark Library's library catalog, also called UP Library Search. You can access it through the search box in the middle of the library's homepage, library.up.edu. It's a great starting point for your research because it's a gateway to discovering millions of books, videos, articles, and more available to you through the Clark Library and beyond.
UP Library Search contains several collections, and you can change the drop-down menu to search the one that's right for you. One search is for online resources like e-books and online articles. You can limit to the resources that we own with the UP Only search or expand to include Summit, which is a group of libraries in the Pacific Northwest that UP belongs to, that you can request books and videos from. The largest collection in UP Library Search adds articles to the mix. You can access the complete copy of many of those articles. So that's why you might use UP Library Search!
In this video, we're going to focus on plagiarism. So let's begin with a definition. Plagiarism occurs when you use information from another source and then fail to give proper credit to that source, usually through a citation. It doesn't matter if you copy information word for word, or if you change or rearrange words. If you fail to give credit, It's still plagiarism and you can still get in trouble for it.
There are two types of plagiarism. The first, intentional plagiarism, occurs when someone purposely tries to pass the ideas of others off as their own. And the second, unintentional plagiarism, occurs when someone doesn't understand plagiarism well enough to know that what they've done is, in fact, plagiarism. Both intentional and unintentional plagiarism are wrong. Avoiding either type begins with knowing what plagiarism is and ends with always remembering to cite your sources.
So now that you have some basic knowledge about what plagiarism is, the next step is learning strategies for avoiding it. First, put down the copy and paste. Second, use quotation marks. Third, paraphrase or summarize. Fourth, make it about you. And finally, cite your sources. Let's talk about these five strategies in a bit more detail.
Strategy one, put down the copy and paste. Well, copy and paste is a great shortcut for capturing and transferring words and images. Using it too much can lead to situations where you might lose track of where the original text came from or that it originally came from someone else's work at all. Making notes on what you're reading, rather than lifting it completely from the original source, will help you process and understand the information, so when it does come time to write your paper or give a presentation, it will be easier to resist the impulse to take a shortcut strategy to use quotations. What's tempting about using the exact wording from the original source is that the author may have made the exact point you wanted to make, but you just couldn't find the right words to say it. And when they've already said it so well, making changes may just seem like a waste of energy.
The good news is that it's okay to use the original author's exact wording, but only if you remember to put quotes around it and give proper credit. This shows you not only have good taste, but you also know how to give credit where it's due.
Strategy three, paraphrase or summarize. Quoting is all well and good. But it's not as though you can string together a bunch of quotes and just hand in that for your assignment. You need to show your own thinking as well, including the connections you're making between the readings you are doing and the ideas you're learning. Instead of using direct quotes, you can paraphrase or summarize the original source in your own words. Keep in mind that paraphrasing is more than just changing a few words or rearranging the ideas. It's okay if the ideas or someone else's, so long as the citation is in place and the words are your own.
Strategy four: make it about you. When it comes to the paper you are writing, remember that you are the star. Your paper should be all about you: Your ideas about what you're learning in class, your interpretation of the sources you've found and the connections you are making between all of these things. You are showing what you know and how you know it. Remember that the sources you use are there to support your ideas and thoughts, not the other way around.
Strategy five: cite your information in writing. Citation serves two purposes. The first is to give credit to those whose words we have used in our own writing. The second is to tell your reader where you got your information, so if they want to look further into the topic, they know where to find it. For these reasons, citation is the only surefire way to avoid plagiarism. It tells your readers where you got your information and where they can get it too. Accurately formatting citations can be tricky. But luckily, there is help.
Your instructor will tell you what format to use, usually either APA, MLA, or Chicago style. Once you know which format you're using, there are online and print materials that will tell you how to cite a variety of sources.
There are also writing tutors and librarians on campus who can help you get it right.
As a note, if you choose to use a citation generator to create your citations, remember that the citations they give you will often contain errors. So you always want to check those citations to make sure they're accurate. And then you're good to go.
email@example.com | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
Copyright © University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com