Library Guides: BUS 200: Principles of Marketing (DuFault): General Trends

Social and Economic Factors

Bureau of Labor Statistics Economy at a Glance
National, regional, state, and metropolitan-area data on unemployment rates, average hourly earnings, consumer price index, and producer price index.
Conference Board: Consumer Confidence Index
From the web site: "The monthly Consumer Confidence Survey®, based on a probability-design random sample, is conducted for The Conference Board by Nielsen, a leading global provider of information and analytics around what consumers buy and watch."
Economic Indicators: U.S. Census Bureau
At a glance view 15 economic indicators, including industry profits, construction spending, and durable goods manufacturing. Select chart icon (shown at left) to view all data in time series.
Gallup Poll Reports
Reports of Gallup polls on these categories: Economy, Education, Politics, and Well-Being. Also reports related to business topics such as Employee/Customer Engagement, Manufacturing, Marketplace, and Retail. The link goes to Well-Being reports.
Ipsos "Latest [US] Research Data and Reports"
Reports on US consumers from a multinational market research and consulting firm.
Pew Research Center: Economics and Personal Finances
From the web site: "Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions."
State of Working America
"Includes a wide variety of data on family incomes, wages, jobs, unemployment, wealth, and poverty that allow for a clear, unbiased understanding of the economy’s effect on the living standards of working Americans."

Trade Publications

Improve your understanding of the industry macro-environment
by searching these databases for industry publications:

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business journals and magazines, as well as company, industry, country, and market research reports. Some full text. 1922-
Nexis Uni - no longer available
Try these alternative resources:
Newspapers: America's News or Press Reader
Congressional: ProQuest Congressional
Legal: Oyez (Supreme Court) or PACER (Public Access to Court Electronic Records)

Technology Trends

Deloitte Technology Trends Report
"Outlines trends that could potentially disrupt the way businesses engage their customers, how work gets done, and how markets and industries evolve."
Gartner, Inc.
"Gartner is the IT professional's best first source for addressing virtually any IT issue because of our world-class, objective insight, the rapid access to that insight, and the low cost compared to the impact and other alternatives." Account required to view free research reports.
McKinsey & Company
The "Industries" tab provides access to "Insights" reports, articles etc. on trends within an industry.
UPS "Pulse of the Online Shopper"
The study explores the online shopping experience, mobile and social technology in shopping and more. Sign up for free account to view the report.

Trade Associations, Political and Legal Initiatives

Lobbyists represent trade associations in Congress and try to influence legislation. You can learn about the legislative issues that trade associations are concerned about by reading the lobbyists' quarterly activity reports which are archived at this site.

Lobbying Disclosure Act database at U.S. Senate
Enter a trade association in the Client search box to see if it has employed lobbyists to attempt to influence legislation.
Lobbying Disclosure search at U.S. House of Representatives
Search for the trade association and filter by year.
Open Secrets Lobbying Database
Search by name for a company, lobbying firm or individual lobbyist; search for the total spending by a particular industry; view the interests that lobbied a particular government agency; or search for lobbying on a general issue or specific piece of legislation.

These databases provide lists of trade associations:

* Gale Business Insights: Global
- Look for "Associations" in the left-hand filters list after you look up an industry
* Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the US
- Select the most recent volume and search within it
* IBISWorld
- Under About: Additional Resources
* Mintel Academic
- Under Appendix: Data Sources and Abbreviations

Another way to locate trade associations is to search the Internet and enter your industry name followed by the word "association," e.g., ["video games" association].