Chicago Style (18th Edition) Citation Guide: Journal Articles

Journal Article From Library Database with DOI or a URL

Journal Article from Online Source

Journal Article in Print

Bibliography:

All citations should be double spaced and have a hanging indent.

A "hanging indent" means that each subsequent line after the first line of your citation should be indented by 0.5 inches.

Footnotes:

All citations should use first line indent, where the first line of the footnote should be indented by 0.5 inches; all subsequent lines are not indented.

Footnotes should be the same font size and style as the rest of your paper.

See instructions for how to insert footnotes in Microsoft Word.

Author

If there is no known author, start the citation with the title of the article instead.

In the bibliography and footnote, do not include titles, degrees, religious affiliations, or other abbreviations that are not part of the name (examples: Pope, PhD, C.S.C., Jr., Sr., III). 

Access Date

Chicago style does not recommend including access dates in the citation, unless no date of publication for the source may be located.

Publication Date

A month or season is not needed for journal articles that include both a volume and issue number. 

When citing articles from online databases (such as ATLA Religion Database or JSTOR), include the DOI (preferred) or the URL to assist your reader in connecting to the article online.

Access dates are not necessary for articles from library databases. Access dates are only necessary if no date of publication for the source may be located.

One or Two Authors

Include both authors names in the bibliography entry and footnote.

Bibliography:

Kilgallen, John J. “The Elder Son.” Expository Times 115, no. 6 (2004): 186-89. https://login.uportland.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.co m/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=1201293 5&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Ritchie, Daniel E, and Jared Hedges. “Choosing Rest in Paradise Lost.” Christianity and Literature 67, no. 2 (2018): 271–93. https://doi.org/10.1177/0148333117725606.

Footnote:

1. John J. Kilgallen, “The Elder Son,” Expository Times 115, no. 6 (2004): 187, https://login.uportland.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.co m/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=12012935 &site=ehost-live&scope=site.

2. Daniel E. Ritchie and Jared Hedges, “Choosing Rest in Paradise Lost,” Christianity and Literature 67, no. 2 (2018): 271–93, https://doi.org/10.1177/0148333117725606.

Three or More Authors

In the bibliography entry, list up to six authors; if there are more than six, list only the first three, followed by "et al." (Latin for “and others”). For the footnote, list only the first author followed by "et al." 

Bibliography:

McCorkle, Brian H., Carole Bohn, Tricia Hughes, and David Kim. “‘Sacred Moments’: Social Anxiety in a Larger Perspective.” Mental Health, Religion & Culture 8, no. 3 (2005): 227–38. https://doi.org/10.1080/13694670500138874.

Footnote:

1. Brian H. McCorkle et al., “Sacred Moments: Social Anxiety in a Larger Perspective,” Mental Health, Religion & Culture 8, no. 3 (2005): 230, https://doi.org/10.1080/13694670500138874.

Bibliography:

Booij, Thijs. “Psalm 141: A Prayer for Discipline and Protection.” Biblica 86, no. 1 (2005): 97-106. http://www.bsw.org/Biblica/Vol-86-2005/Psalm141-A-Prayer-For-Discipline-AndProtection/130/.

Footnote:

1. Thijs Booij, “Psalm 141: A Prayer for Discipline and Protection,” Biblica 86, no. 1 (2005): 100, http://www.bsw.org/Biblica/Vol-86- 2005/Psalm-141-A-Prayer-For-Discipline-AndProtection/130/.

Bibliography:

Fewell, Danna Nolan, and David M. Gunn. “Boaz, Pillar of Society: Measures of Worth in the Book of Ruth.” Journal for the Study of the Old Testament 45 (1993): 45-59.

Footnote:

1. Danna Nolan Fewell and David M. Gunn, “Boaz, Pillar of Society: Measures of Worth in the Book of Ruth,” Journal for the Study of the Old Testament 45 (1993): 46.