Skip to Main Content
You may already be familiar with databases for computer science research available from the Clark Library, but also try databases covering research in history, law, political science, public policy, and/or ethics. See the ones listed below by discipline or visit the library's research guides.
Engineering and Computer Science Databases
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of Association for Computing Machinery journals, magazines, and conference proceedings.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full text of IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals and conference proceedings; and IEEE published standards.
Tip: On results screen, select the Subscribed Content filter to see full text available through UP's subscription. 1988-
Computer Source This link opens in a new window
Technology and computing journals. Some full text. 1985-
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Theoretical and applied mathematics. 1940-
Engineering Village (Compendex) This link opens in a new window
Engineering journals, reports, conference proceedings, and books. 1969-
Databases for History and Social Science
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
American & Canadian history books and journals. Some full text. 1964-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
World history, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Some full text. 1954-
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Humanities and social sciences journals. 1907-1984
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology and related disciplines, including social work and criminal justice. Some full text. 1895-
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Psychology and behavioral science journals, books, conference papers, and more. Some full text. 1887-
Databases for Law
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly law journals. Full text. 1965-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text of newspapers and other news sources, as well as business & legal information. Restricted to UP students, faculty and staff.
Nexis Uni: Legal Cases This link opens in a new window
Search for Federal and State cases by keyword, case name, and more. Restricted to UP students, faculty and staff.
Nexis Uni: Law Reviews This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of law reviews. Restricted to UP students, faculty and staff.
Databases for Policy and Government
Tips for Searching in Library Databases
- Use Boolean Operators in your searches (AND, NOT, OR, etc.) to broaden or narrow a search
Use truncation (e.g., comput* instead of computer or computing) to include all word forms
Choose limiters to define time span, language, and type of resource, to filter out unwanted results
Look at the references for the relevant sources you find to identify other useful sources
General (Multidisciplinary) Databases
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest articles on many subjects. Some full text. 1975-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text multidisciplinary archive of core scholarly journals.
Google Scholar (with Get it @ UP) This link opens in a new window
Search the scholarly literature across many disciplines. This Google Scholar includes Get it @ UP links in results so you can easily connect to full text available through the Clark Library. You can also activate this feature in your own version of Google Scholar (see: how to connect Google Scholar to UP's full text
Using library databases will maximize your chances of finding useful articles for your research, but you still need to evaluate the sources you find using the CRAAP test criteria. Remember to always consider the Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose of the articles you find on the web or via library databases.
Having Trouble Choosing Search Terms?
email@example.com | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
Copyright © University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com