Library Guides: ED 581: Language, Literacy & Culture: Finding & Accessing Articles

Best Places to Search for Articles about Education

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Leading resource for education. Some full text. 1966-
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Full text education journals and books. 1929-

Note: you will be prompted to login to access these resources. Your login is your UP username and password (the same as you use for Pilots or Moodle). Do not include "@up.edu" at the end of your user name.

Searching Tips

(1) Put each concept into its own search box. This combines your search terms with AND for more flexibility and better results.

(2) Use the asterisk (*) to look for different spellings/variations of a word.

Search by DOI number

Use the Google Scholar database to search by the DOI (digital object identifier) number of an article, or to find out if UP has an article that you are trying to locate. This link is set up to help you to find the full text of articles available through UP's Clark Library.

Google Scholar (with Get it @ UP) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles across many disciplines. This Google Scholar includes Get it @ UP links in results so you can easily connect to full text available through the Clark Library. Activate this feature in your version of Google Scholar (see: how to connect Google Scholar to UP's full text).

Finding Full Text

Many citations provide immediate links to the Full Text of the article.

Finding / Requesting Full Text via Get it @ UP

If full text is not immediately available, use the Get it @ UP link to see if Clark Library has online access to the article, or to request a copy of the article from another library.

Choose the link next to Get it now to access the full text of the article. If no Get it now links are available, or if the link didn't connect to the full text, then choose the Request from Interlibrary Loan link to request a copy of the article.