Library Guides: ENV 200: Perspectives in Environmental Science: Scholarly Sources

Scholarly Sources: Definition

Scholarly sources are publications, such as journals and monographs (scholarly books), that are more technical and written for an expert audience. The writers have advanced degrees and are experts in their field. Their papers might describe their studies and findings, review the state of knowledge in a specific area, or present theories. An editor oversees the publication process and journal editors often use peer review to ensure they are publishing the most scientifically sound papers.

Also see our guide on Identifying, Finding & Reading Scholarly Sources.

What is Peer Review?

Search Tools for Journal Articles

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Includes scholarly, government and general-interest titles.
ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Environmental science, ecology, biotechnology, toxicology and water resources journal articles. Some full text. 1970-
ProQuest Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database‎ This link opens in a new window
Earth science, aquatic resources, meteorology, climatology, hydrology, and glaciology journal articles. Some full text. 1950-

Google Scholar (with Get it @ UP) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles across many disciplines. This Google Scholar includes Get it @ UP links in results so you can easily connect to full text available through the Clark Library. Activate this feature in your version of Google Scholar (see: how to connect Google Scholar to UP's full text).

UP Library Search

Use UP Library Search to find books, streaming videos, online resources, journal articles, and much more (Search Tips). Need help? See handouts for Finding Books on the Shelf and Requesting Clark Library and Summit Items online.