Primary Historical Sources - HST 291: US Imperialism, 1850 - Present

Newspapers and Magazines at UP

U.S. (Full Text)
U.S. Indexes (Citations only)

ProQuest Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text of the historic New York Times, Chicago (Daily) Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, San Francisco Chronicle, and Washington Post.
Nineteenth (19th) Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of 401 U.S. newspapers from 1800-1900, from all 50 states, including locations that were not yet states during this time period.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of American magazines and journals covering 1741-1940.

Search tips for many library databases:

Add * to the start of a word to find all possible endings: colon* finds colony, colonies, colonial, colonialism, etc.

Insert ? to stand for exactly one character: Para?tos finds Parantos and Parautos (the "n" in hand-set type sometimes shows up as "u")

Tip for brainstorming search terms: use vocabulary of the time instead of contemporary wording.

You can also browse by date!

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
Covers 1802-1907.

Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
General interest periodicals reflecting a history of 20th century America. 1890-1982

Primary Sources Elsewhere

American Anti-Imperialist League (University of Northern Iowa)
Philippines and the United States: History of Colonial Government 1898 - 1934 (University of Northern Iowa)
Spanish-American War: A Resource Guide (Library of Congress)
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library aims to "bring together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and make them freely available to the world."
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This Library of Congress website lets you search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922, including from Hawai'i, Alaska, and Puerto Rico.
University of Hawai'i Menu Collections
Culinary Institute of America Menu Collection

Search for Primary Sources via Foot/Endnotes in Secondary Sources

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
American & Canadian history books and journals. Some full text. 1964-

Get Materials: Quick Overview

In your America: History and Life search results you will see a Get it @ UP link. This is a special tool to help connect you to full text.

If the Get it @ UP link doesn't connect you, or anything is confusing, use the Clark Library's Interlibrary Loan (UP ILLiad) service to request the item. UP ILLiad can also obtain copies of primary sources if you have a citation.

HST 291: US Imperialism, 1850 - Present: Primary Historical Sources

Newspapers and Magazines at UP

Primary Sources Elsewhere

Search for Primary Sources via Foot/Endnotes in Secondary Sources

Get Materials: Quick Overview