Library Guides: Integrative Health & Wellness: Articles

Best Bets for Integrative Health & Wellness

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of complementary and alternative medicine scholarly journals and general interest publications. 1990-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and six other Cochrane Library databases covering the effects of interventions in health care, research methodology and evidence-based practice.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Health information (including alternative health) compiled from reference books, journals, videos and pamphlets. Full text. 1980-
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Separate Health & Wellness database rates effectiveness of specific diets and activities as well as some therapies.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's database for journals in medicine and biology. Get help searching PubMed. 1949-

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes Pre-CINAHL (most recent articles). Some full text. 1937-
Google Scholar (with Get it @ UP) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles across many disciplines. This Google Scholar includes Get it @ UP links in results so you can easily connect to full text available through the Clark Library. Activate this feature in your version of Google Scholar (see: how to connect Google Scholar to UP's full text).

MedlinePlus Herbs and Supplements
Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions. Includes references for further research.
Complementary Medicine @ MEDLINE
Search of the National Library of Medicine database MEDLINE, pre-limited to Complementary Medicine journals.
Information is Beautiful: Snake Oil Supplements
Scientific evidence for popular health supplements showing tangible human health benefits when taken orally by an adult with a healthy diet. Each bubble links to evidence.

Information is Beautiful: Snake Oil Supplements
Scientific evidence for popular health supplements showing tangible human health benefits when taken orally by an adult with a healthy diet. Each bubble links to evidence.

Email: reference@up.edu

Visit us in person at the library's Research Desk

Research Desk Phone:
503.943.7788
1.800.841.8261 x7788