This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University of Portland Clark Library

MLA Style (9th Edition) Citation Guide: How to Cite: Other

Class Handouts

Online

Instructor's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Handouts/Notes." Name of Course, Date handout was received, University/College, URL. Access date. Class handout.

Works Cited List Example:

Easton, Todd. “Model Paper.” Economics 121, 10 Apr. 2019, University of Portland, learning.up.edu/moodle/mod/resource/view.php?id=544855. Accessed 15 May 2019. Class handout.  

In-Text Citation Example:

 (Instructor's Last Name)

 Example: (Easton)


Print

Instructor's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Handouts/Notes." Name of Course, Date handout was received, University/College. Class handout.

Works Cited List Example:

Doe, Mark. "Critical Analysis." English 100, 4 Sept. 2016, University of Portland. Class handout.

In-Text Citation Example:

 (Instructor's Last Name)

 Example: (Doe)

Cochrane Review

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Review." Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number-Last Page Number. https://doi.org/doi number.

Work Cited List Example:

Lane, Deirdre A., and Gregory Y. H. Lip. "Treatment of Hypertension in Peripheral Arterial Disease." Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 4 Dec. 2013, https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD003075.pub3.

In-Text Citation Example:

(Author's Last Name)

Example: (Lane & Lip)


Notes

Cochrane reviews follow the journal article format.

Provide the name of the database (Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews) in italic title case in the works cited list. Do not italicize it elsewhere in your paper. 

Different versions of Cochrane reviews include different information, which means the works cited list might vary too. Follow the principle of citing what you see.

  • Full-text versions of Cochrane reviews do not include volume numbers, issue numbers, or article numbers. The full-text version displays when you visit the DOI of the article.
  • However, the article PDFs show the year as the volume number, an issue number, and an article number.
  • It is fine to omit the volume, issue, and article number from the Cochrane review works cited list if the information is missing from your version of the article, but if you do see this information, include it just as you would for any journal article.

Conference Proceedings or Paper

Published Conference Proceedings

Author's Last Name, First Name. Conference Title, Conference Date and Location, Publisher, Date of Publication.

Works Cited List Example:

Chang, Steve S., et al., editors. Proceedings of the Twenty-Fifth Annual Meeting of the Berkeley Linguistics Society, February 12-15, 1999: General Session and Parasession on Loan Word Phenomena. Berkeley Linguistics Society, 2000.


Oral Presentation at Conference

Speaker's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Speech." Title of Conference or Meeting, Day Month, Year, Location of Conference. Descriptor (i.e. Keynote Address, Guest Lecture, Conference Presentation, Address, Lecture, Reading). 

Works Cited List Example:

Stein, Bob. “Reading and Writing in the Digital Era.” Discovering Digital Dimensions, Computers and Writing Conference, 23 May 2003, Union Club Hotel, West Lafayette, IN. Keynote Address.

Dissertations

Dissertation from Database

Author's Last Name, First Name Middle Name (if given). Title of Dissertation: Subtitle if Given. Year. PhD dissertation. Database Name.

Example:

Smith, Junette A. A Bridge to Neuroeducation: A Qualitative Study of Perceptions of Educators of Adult Learners. 2017. PhD dissertation. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.

In-Text Citation Example:

(Author's Last Name Page Number)

Example: (Smith 33)


Dissertation Abstract

Author's Last Name, First Name Middle Name (if given). Title of dissertation: Subtitle if given. Dissertation Abstracts International, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number-Last Page Number. Name of Database, URL.

Example:

Brooks, Mary Patrice. (2008). The History of St. Joseph School and Challenges of Catholic Education in Oregon. Dissertation Abstracts International, vol. 69, no. 6, 2008, pp. 2184–2185. America: History & Life, login.uportland.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ahl&AN=46957249&login.asp%3fcustid%3ds8474154&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

In-Text Citation Example:

(Author Page Number)

Example: (Brooks 2185)

ERIC Document

Author's Last Name, First Name Middle Name (if given). "Title of document: Subtitle if given." Date of Publication. Database Name. (ERIC document number).


Works Cited List Example:

Kubota, Kenichi. “‘Soaking’ Model for Learning: Analyzing Japanese Learning/Teaching Process from a Socio-Historical Perspective.” 2007. ERIC (ED498566).

In-Text Citation Example:

Example: (Kubota 4)

Note: this document is a PDF so page numbers are available.

Images / Artwork

Image from a Website

Artist's Last Name, First Name. Title of Work: Subtitle if Any. Year, Location of Work, URL.

Works Cited List Example:

Goya, Francisco. The Family of Charles IV. 1800. Museo del Prado, museodelprado.es/en/the-collection/art-work/the-family-of-carlos-iv/f47898fc-aa1c-48f6-a779-71759e417e74.

In-Text Citation Example:

(Artist's Last Name)

Example: (Goya)

Note: For images found online, do not list a page number.

If the artist is not named, use a shortened version of the title (usually just 1-2 significant words): (“Title").


Image from a Book

When you refer to a photographic reproduction of an artwork, the citation is made up of two parts:

  • Part 1: Lists the original artist's name, the name of the work, and the date the work was created. 
  • Part 2: Cites where you found the reproduction of the work such as a book. 

Artist's Last Name, First Name. Title of Work: Subtitle if Any. Year, Location of Work. Book Title, by Author's First Name Last Name, Publisher Name often shortened, Year of publication, p. number.

Works Cited List Example:

Cassatt, Mary. Mother and Child. 1889, Wichita Art Museum, Wichita, KS. American Painting,1560-1913, by John Pearce, McGraw, 1964, Slide 22. 

In-Text Citation Example:

(Artist's Last Name, Page Number)

If the artist is not named, use a shortened version of the title (usually just 1-2 significant words): (“Title," Page Number).

Example: (Cassatt, slide 22)


Image from a Library Database

Artist's Last Name, First Name. Title of Work: Subtitle if Any. Year, Location of Work. Database Title, URL.

Works Cited List Example:

Monet, Claude. The Parc Monceau. 1878. The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York City. Artstor, library.artstor.org/library/secure/ViewImages?id=%2FDFMaiMuOztdLS0wdD5%2BR3su&userId=gDhMeDUs&zoomparams=.

In-Text Citation Example:

(Artist's Last Name)

Example: (Monet)

Note: For images found online, do not list a page number.

If the artist is not named, use a shortened version of the title (usually just 1-2 significant words): (“Title"). Example: ("Sunday Afternoon")

Instrument

Works Cited List Example:

Beck, Aaron T., et al. “Beck Depression Inventory–II.” PsycTESTS, 1996. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1037/t00742-000.

In-Text Citation Example:

 Example: (Beck et al. 1996)

Jazz Discography (by Tom Lord)

The Jazz Discography uses session numbers (example: E1254) to refer to recording sessions. Include the session number in your citation.

Works Cited List Example:

Lord, Tom. "F2031: The Duke Ellington Song Book." The Jazz Discography, www.lordisco.com/tjd/WordDetail?id=7&mode=detail&rid=49863.

In-Text Citation Example:

(Author's Last Name)

Example: (Lord)

Since this is an online source page numbers are not needed.

Lecture Notes (taken by a student or otherwise not public)

Instructor's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Lecture." Name of Course, Date lecture occurred, University/College. Class lecture.


Works Cited List Example:

Aihiokhai, Simon. “Christian Spirituality.” THE 105, 18 Jan. 2017, University of Portland. Class lecture.

In-Text Citation Example:

 (Instructor's Last Name)

 Example: (Aihiokhai)

Lippincott Advisor (7th ed)

Website:

"Title of Article." Date Month Year of Latest Update, Lippincott Advisor. Retrieved Date, URL.

Note: include "Retrieved" followed by the date for web pages that may be updated over time and that are not archived

Works Cited List Example:

"Anemia (Aplastic)". 12 Jul. 2019, Lippincott Advisor. Retrieved 17 Oct. 2019, advisor.lww.com/lna/document.do?bid=4&did=791392.

In-Text Citation Example:

("First Word Or Two of Article Title," Year)

Example: ("Anemia (Aplastic)," 2019)

Note: Because online resources typically do not have page numbers, paragraph numbers or section headings, this information is left out of the in-text citation.


Lippincott Advisor mobile app:

"Title of Article." Date Month Year of Latest Update, Lippincott Advisor. Retrieved Date, advisor.lww.com. Mobile App. 

Works Cited List Example:

"Anemia (Aplastic)". 12 Jul. 2019, Lippincott Advisor. Retrieved 17 Oct. 2019, advisor.lww.com. Mobile App. 

In-Text Citation Example:

("First Word Or Two of Article Title," Year)

Example: ("Anemia (Aplastic)," 2019)

Note: Because mobile apps typically do not have page numbers, paragraph numbers or section headings, this information is left out of the in-text citation.

Mintel or Other Corporate Report

Works Cited List Example:

Mintel Group Ltd. “Car Rentals – US.” Mintel Reports, July 2018, clients.mintel.com. 

In-Text Citation Example:

 Example: (Mintel)

Mobile Application Software (App)

Name of Company that created the application or Creator's Last Name, First Name. Middle Initial if given. Name of Application, Publisher Name or App Store, Version number if given, Release Date of Current Version of the Application, Mobile App, URL application was downloaded from.


Works Cited List Example:

National Geographic Society. National Parks by National Geographic, App Store, vers.1.2, 2012, Mobile App. www.apple.com/itunes/.

In-Text Citation Example:

(Name of Company or Author's Last Name)

Example: (National Geographic Society)

Note: Because apps typically do not have page numbers, paragraph numbers or section headings, this information is left out of the in-text citation.

Music Score

Composer Last Name, First Name. Title of Work. Version, Publisher, Publication Date. 


Works Cited List Example:

Beethoven, Ludwig van. Corolian Ouverture: op. 62. Heugel, 1951. 

In-Text Citation Example:

(Composer's Last Name Page Number)

(Beethoven 11)

Natural Medicines (online monograph)

Works Cited List Example:

"Guided Imagery." Natural Medicines, 2015, Monograph, naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com/ health-wellness/professional.aspx?productid=1238.

In-Text Citation Example:

(Author, if none then name of monograph)

Example: ("Guided Imagery")

Note: Because online monographs from Natural Medicines typically do not have page numbers, paragraph numbers or section headings, this information is left out of the in-text citation.

Personal/Unpublished Works/Blogs

Author's Last Name, First Name or Username if real name not provided. "Title of Blog Post." Name of Blog, Blog Network/Publisher if given, Day Month Year of blog post, URL of blog post. Accessed Day Month Year blog was visited.


Works Cited List Example:

Brussat, Frederic. “Beyond Ideas of Wrongdoing and Rightdoing.” Civility & Spirituality, 11 Dec. 2014, www.spiritualityandpractice.com/blogs/posts/civilityspirituality/301/beyond-ideas-of-wrongdoing-and-rightdoing. Accessed 12 Jan. 2017.

In-Text Citation Example:

 Example: (Brussat)

Podcast

Host's Last Name, First Name, host. "Title of Podcast Episode." Title of Overall Podcast, season number if given, episode number if given, Web Site Hosting If Different From Podcast Title, Day Month Year of Episode, URL of episode. Accessed Day Month Year podcast was downloaded/played.


Works Cited List Example:

Orton, Tyler, and Patrick Blennerhassett, hosts. "Lessons From the Brexit." BIV Podcast, episode 18, Business Vancouver, 28 June 2016, www.biv.com/article/2016/6/biv-podcast-episode-18-lessons-brexit/. Accessed 2 July 2016.

In-Text Citation Example:

(Host's Last Name Start Time of Revelant Section-End Time of Section)

(Orton and Blennerhassett 01:15-02:22)

PowerPoint Slides

PowerPoint Slides from Moodle

Instructor's Last Name, First Name. "Title of PowerPoint Presentation." Title of Course, Date of PowerPoint presentation, Name of University. Microsoft PowerPoint presentation. 

Works Cited List Example

 Smith, John. "BIO 110: Week 2: Cells." Biology 110, 15 Jan. 2016, University of Portland. Microsoft PowerPoint presentation. 

In-Text Citation Example

 (Instructor's Last Name)

 Example: (Smith, slide 5)

 Note: include the slide number in your in-text citation if you know it. If not, leave it out


PowerPoint Slides from a Website

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of PowerPoint Presentation." Website publisher, Creation Date, URL. Microsoft PowerPoint presentation. 

Works Cited List Example

 Kunka, Jennifer Liethen.. "Conquering the Comma." Purdue University Writing Lab, owl.purdue.edu/owl/general_writing/punctuation/conquering_the_comma_presentation.html. Microsoft PowerPoint presentation. 

In-Text Citation Example

 (Author's Last Name)

 Example: (Kunka, slide 2)

 Note: include the slide number in your in-text citation if you know it. If not, leave it out

Review of Book, Play, Movie, Poem, etc.

You can find reviews in multiple source types (newspapers, magazines, journals, etc.); please see elsewhere on this guide for guidance on creating a citation for a specific source. The below citation example is for a play review that appeared on a newspaper website.


This template is for a review in general:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Review: Subtitle if Any." Review of Play (Book, Movie, etc.) Title, by Playwright (Author, Director, etc.). Name of Periodical, Date of Publication, p. Page number. 

Note: Titles of plays, books, and movies are italicized as shown here; do not italicize titles of articles, poems, and short stories. Instead, put them in quotation marks, e.g., Review of "The Revenant," by Billy Collins.

Note: If the author's name is not listed, begin the citation with the title of the article.


Works Cited List Example

Brantley, Ben. "Dear Audiences of 'Tiny Beautiful Things,' Prepare to Cry." Review of Tiny Beautiful Things, by Nia Vardalos. New York Times, www.nytimes.com/2016/12/07/theater/tiny-beautiful-things-review.html. Accessed 8 Apr. 2020.

In-Text Citation Example

Following guidance for a newspaper article from a website: (Review Author's Last Name)

(Brantley)

Note: If there is no author listed, the in-text citation would include the first word or words of the title of the article in quotation marks, e.g. ("Dear Audiences").


SimplyAnalytics

"Name of Data File." SimplyAnalytics Database. Producer, date of data file.

Works Cited List Examples:

"Census 2010 Current Estimates Data."  SimplyAnalytics Database. Geographic Research, Inc., 2013.

"2016 Current Estimates Data." SimplyAnalytics Database. U.S. Census, 2017.

"Map with 2016 consumer expenditure data." SimplyAnalytics Database. SimplyAnalytics, 2017.

Notes:

  • Obtain the data file name from the Metadata
  • If you produced a map, SimplyAnalytics is the producer.

Song or Album

Music can be cited multiple ways. Mainly, this depends on the container that you accessed the music from. Generally, citations begin with the artist name. They might also be listed by composers or performers. Otherwise, list composer and performer information after the album title. Put individual song titles in quotation marks. Album names are italicized. Provide the name of the recording manufacturer followed by the publication date.

If information such as record label or name of album is unavailable from your source, do not list that information.

Spotify Example:

Rae Morris. “Skin.” Cold, Atlantic Records, 2014. Spotify, open.spotify.com/track/0OPES3Tw5r86O6fudK8gxi.

Online Album Example:

Beyoncé. “Pray You Catch Me.” Lemonade, Parkwood Entertainment, 2016, www.beyonce.com/album/lemonade-visual-album/.

CD Example:

Nirvana. "Smells Like Teen Spirit." Nevermind, Geffen, 1991.

Sound recording / Booklet from Naxos Music Library

Sound Recording:

Works Cited List Example:

Orff, Carl. “Fortuna Imperatrix Mundi: O Fortuna.” Carmina Burana. Performed by the London Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Hans Graf, LPO, 2012, Naxos Music Library, portland.naxosmusiclibrary.com/catalogue/item.asp?cid=5099960230652.

In-Text Citation Example:

(Creator's Last Name)

Example: (Orff)

If there is no creator, use a shortened form of the title (just one or two significant words): (“Title")


Booklet:

Cite the author of the booklet / liner notes (the author's name often appears at the end of the text).

Works Cited List Example:  

Prince, David. Booklet. Sophisticated Lady, by Ella Fitzgerald and Joe Pass. Pablo Records, 2001, Naxos Jazz Music Library, cdn.naxosmusiclibrary.com/sharedfiles/booklets/FAC/booklet-PACD-5310-2.pdf.

In-Text Citation Example:

(Author's Last Name Page Number)

Example: (Prince 2)

Statista

Source of data. Title of document: Subtitle if given. Date of publication, Statista, URL.

Note: since Statista is the name of the publisher and the name of the database, cite Statista only as the database name at the end of the citation.


Works Cited List Example:

National Park Service. Most visited national parks in the United States in 2018. 13 May 2019, Statista, www.statista.com/statistics/378920/most-visited-national-parks-us.

In-Text Citation Example:

(Source of data)

Example: (National Park Service)

Twitter (Tweets)

Twitter Handle (First Name Last Name if Known). "The Entire Tweet Word-for-Word." Twitter, Day Month Year of Tweet, Time of Tweet, URL.


Works Cited List Example:

@ReallyVirtual (Sohaib Athar). "Helicopter Hovering Above Abbottad at 1AM is a Rare Event." Twitter,  4 Jan. 2013, 3:58 p.m., twitter.com/reallyvirtual/status/64780730286358528?lang=en.

Note: Write out the actual Tweet in the citation and keep spelling and grammar the same as in the original, even if there are errors. When quoting the Tweet, beside grammatical and spelling errors in the original Tweet, write [sic] in square brackets to indicate the errors are not your own. E.g., if the Tweet was "It isn't you're fault the media is violent", write: "It isn't you're [sic] fault the media is violent."

In-Text Citation Example:

(Twitter handle)

(@ReallyVirtual)

library@up.edu | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
Copyright © University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com