THTR 307: A History of Theatre and Culture

Look for articles from a Chicago, Illinois newspaper in the early 1900s. 

1. Go to the Primary Sources (15th-21st Centuries) tab.
2. Choose the link for the Chicago Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers).
3. Search for: Circus, then choose the Publication date drop-down menu, choose Specific date range, and enter: 1900 (Start) and 1920 (End). Choose the Search button.
4. Look at several articles that describe the circus coming to town. 
5. Be prepared to share some information with the class about what you found.

Look for books in the library's collection.

1. Go to the Find Articles & More tab.
2. In the Find Books at UP and Beyond box, search for: Shakespeare Globe Theatre.
3. You will find a mix of Print Books, eBooks, Streaming Video, and more. For today, focus on the Print Books and eBooks. 
4. Identify at least one Print Book that looks like it might describe what the Globe Theatre was like during the 1600s that is available in the Clark Library Book Stacks. 
5. Go downstairs, find the book on the shelf, and bring the book (or books) back to the Classroom. 
6. Be prepared to share some information with the class about what you found.

Look for newspaper articles from London, England in the 19th century.

1. Go to the Primary Sources (15th-21st Centuries) tab.
2. Choose the link for the The Times Digital Archive.
3. Search for: Pantomime, then, under Search Limiters, and Publication date(s), choose the circle next to Between, and choose 1820 (From) and 1830 (To). Choose the Search button.
4. On the search results screen, try changing the Sort by menu to Relevance to find better articles. 
5. Look at several articles that describe performances of pantomime. 
6. Be prepared to share some information with the class about what you found.

Look for journal articles and books about Kabuki theatre.

1. Go to the Find Articles & More tab.
2. Choose the link for MLA International Bibliography.
3. Search for: kabuki theater, and then search for kabuki theatre. Which spelling (theater/theatre) finds more results?
4. Skim some of the article titles to get an overview of the topics that are covered.
5. Find an article that has full text available online.
6. Be prepared to share some information with the class about what you found.

Look for journal articles about Day of the Dead (Día de los Muertos) celebrations in Mexico. 

1. Go to the Find Articles & More tab.
2. Choose the link for JSTOR.
3. Search for: Day of the Dead Mexico.
4. Skim some of the article titles to get an overview of the topics that are covered.
5. Choose an article that describes what it would be like to experience Day of the Dead celebrations.
6. Be prepared to share some information with the class about what you found.

Look for journal articles and books about Punch and Judy puppet shows in the 19th century.

1. Go to the Find Articles & More tab.
2. Choose the link for Performing Arts Periodicals Database.
3. Search for: punch and judy 19th century.
4. Skim some of the article titles to get an overview of the topics that are covered.
5. Find a full-text article that describes what it was like to attend a Punch and Judy show. 
6. Be prepared to share some information with the class about what you found.

Look for images in the New York Public Library Digital Collections. 

1. Go to the Digital Collections tab.
2. Choose the link for the Billy Rose Theatre Division, The New York Public Library.
3. Browse the list of online collections. Look for collections with images taken prior to 1920. 
4. Find some pre-1920 images to share with the class.