This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content

University of Portland Clark Library

Tutorials: Video Transcripts

Request Online Versions of Books and DVDs [Transcript]

If you're looking for a specific book or video and you're not finding an electronic version through the Clark Library's eBooks and streaming videos, we can try to find an online version. So here's how to do that. Let's imagine that you're looking for a book called  "Terrible Lizard, the First Dinosaur Hunters." You'll want to search in the UP+ Summit part of the catalog so that you have the highest probability of finding the book that interests you. >> So you'll search for that book and here it is. Next, you'll choose the link to the book's full record and go to the yellow bar in about the middle of the page where it says "sign in." Select that link and sign in using your University of Portland credentials. And you'll see that the page has now changed. >> So there's a link to request the book through interlibrary loan. >> And that's how we're doing it. >> We're channeling all of the requests through our interlibrary loan service. You'll log in to the interlibrary loan system. And here's the book request pretty much all filled out. >> You see the authors are missing, so you might have to go back to see who the author is. >> And if you don't have that information, you can put N/A. >> So I filled that in and I noticed there's a message at the top of the page with more information. It says books will be evaluated for potential purchase as eBooks or as print books that will be directly mailed to the requester. >> So if we can't find an online version, we will locate a print book that we can mail directly to you. >> We will be in touch about all the details. So then you'll submit the request and we'll contact you.

Now if you're interested in a video, >> the process is very similar. So let's say you were interested in "Arctic Dinosaurs." You would search for it and select the link to the record. Sign in if necessary. But I'm already signed in from the previous book request, and choose the Request from Interlibrary Loan link. >> That link also goes to a book request, but we will be watching out to see if the request is for a book or for a video. Alternatively, you could use the media request form on the left to request the item. Either way, we'll be in touch and we'll do our best to get you the material that you need.

Watch Video

How to: Search JSTOR [Transcript]

Hello and welcome to this tutorial about searching the JSTOR database. Now first, why might you want to search the JSTOR database? So JSTOR is a huge interdisciplinary collection of the full text of scholarly journals. Now something that's important to know about JSTOR is that JSTOR was originally created to be an archive of the back files of scholarly journals. So that means for journals that are included in JSTOR, JSTOR will often have all the way back to volume one, which might have been published in the early 1800s. So JSTOR is great for historical research, really taking a deep dive into the history of scholarly publishing in articles in different subject areas. Now the trade-off is JSTOR often will not include the most current issues of journals that are in the JSTOR database. So the most current three to five years worth of issues of those journals may not be included in JSTOR. So JSTOR won't be as strong for current events or current research. Other databases will do a better job at giving that more current literature. 

Now in order to access JSTOR, you can get to it in a couple ways from the library's website, which is just library.up.edu. First, beneath the search box, you can go to the A-Z databases link and then choose the letter J and follow the link to JSTOR, or also from the library's homepage, JSTOR is linked for many of our subject guides, including the History Guide. And under More Resources for History, I can find a link to JSTOR. 

Okay, so when I connect to JSTOR, so here's just some simple search boxes for searching JSTOR. Today I'm looking for articles about the Washington Monument. Now something that is important to keep in in JSTOR is when you are searching JSTOR, you're searching literally every word in the full text of articles that are included in JSTOR. That means that your search results can often be huge. You might find articles that just had one brief mention of one of your search terms. You can limit your search in a variety of ways. By default you're searching all fields. So generally the title of the article and the full text of the article; you could limit your search to words in the item title. And I sometimes will do this if I'm getting just too huge of search results, I'll limit my search to articles where some of my search terms appear in the title of that article. You also could limit your search by abstract. So to find articles where your search terms appear in the abstract. However, I find that not all articles included in JSTOR include an abstract. So you can end up missing some articles that would be relevant to you that just didn't include an abstract. So I'll usually start with an All Fields search. And then I might come back later and change my search to Item Title if I want to find more specific articles that definitely mentioned my topic. So I'll start with All Fields and then choose Submit Advanced Search. 

And when my search results appear, as I suspected, I have a large search over 57,000 results. But as I quickly look at my results, I can also see the date range that is covered by the JSTOR database. For my first two articles are from 1847 and 1846. So these articles were from a time period when people were just starting to consider building something that would become the Washington Monument. And then my third article is more current, from 2012, about engineering the Washington Monument, talking about the earthquake that impacted the Washington monument in August 2011. 

Now, I may want to limit my search to get a little bit more focused. And the left sidebar gives a variety of limit options. So JSTOR does largely includes journals, but it also includes book chapters or research reports. So I can limit my search to journals right up front. Limiting by publication date can also be important in JSTOR for this topic if I want more articles from the time period when the Washington Monument was being constructed, I might limit my search to 1840 to 1900 and get articles from that earlier time period. If I want more current articles, looking back at the Washington Monument, how it was created, its significance over time, I might limit my search to 1980, (so not super current, but more contemporary) to 2020. So I'm going to apply this limit to find the more current articles. And one more important limit you can do, is under Subject, you can see all of the subject areas that are included in the JSTOR database. And I can choose Show more to see the complete list. So by choosing a subject, this allows you to focus your search to a subject area so that you're only finding articles that were published in a journal from that discipline. So I'm interested in history. So I'm going to limit my search to History and find only articles from history journals. Okay, and that reduced my search pretty significantly. I have about 6500 results now. 

Now I also could focus or limit my search by adding more search terms. So in the search box. I want to find articles about funding the Washington Monument. So I'm going to type in funding and send my search and then see the results that I get. Okay, so this first article catches my eye, Design Proposals for the Washington National Monument. Now I don't see the word funding yet, but I want to find out how does this article talk about funding for the Washington monument. So I can click on the title of the article to see more information. I can see the citation of the article, some links to the article or URLs for the article. I can page through the article. Here's the first page. I can scroll through to the next page. But I want to quickly find where the word funding has mentioned within this 36-page article. Now I could go to the list of search matches. And this will show me all the pages in the article where are my search terms appear. Now the challenge with this search is the words "Washington Monument" probably appear on just about every page within the article. And I want to know where the word "funding" appears. So your best way to do that is go straight to download the PDF. So I'm going to choose download the PDF. And JSTOR will prompt me to accept their license agreement. So I'm going to accept and proceed to download. And then the PDF will start downloading in this lower left corner of the screen. Okay, now that I have the PDF, I can search within it. So I could go to Edit and Find, or use the quick keys of Control-F or on a Mac it's probably Command-F. And I can search for the word "funding." And okay, here's the word "funding." And I'm seeing some dollar signs. So I got to a section of the article where they're talking about how the Washington Monument was funded. 

Okay, a few other things to highlight in JSTOR. In addition to downloading, I can also save this article or save the citation. And there's a button where I can cite this item. So if I choose Cite this Item, JSTOR will give me a citation for this item and a variety of different styles. For history I would use Chicago style. Keep in mind, anytime that you get a citation from a library database, copy it, but then verify it; check it against a Chicago style source to confirm if the citation is accurate, where to see if there's anything that might need to be revised to make the citation accurate for that citation style. And one of the places where you can get some Chicago style help is if I go back to the subject guide, the last tab of the Subject Guide is Cite Sources: Chicago. And we link to a citation guide we've created in the UP Library as well as the Purdue OWL, and the online version of the Chicago Manual of Style. So these are all places where you could get an example of what a good article citation should look like. 

Okay, back in JSTOR, I'll also show if I go back to the search results screen, you also can quickly access the buttons to Download PDF, to Save, or to Cite the Item from here. 

So I hope this tutorial has helped you to get more information about searching the JSTOR database, and ways that you can focus or improve your searching within the JSTOR database. If you have any questions about searching JSTOR, or any other aspect of finding information through the library, please contact us. Our Get Help/Contact Us web page has all the ways you could reach us. From Library Chat, which is a 24/7 service. You can call and leave a voicemail for the reference librarians and we'll respond. You can make an appointment to meet with us online or by phone or email your questions to the reference librarians at reference@up.edu. So we wish you good luck with your research and we hope that you'll be in touch as you have questions about your research.

Watch video

How to: Search Historical New York Times Articles [Transcript]

Hello and welcome to this tutorial about searching the New York Times historical database. 

To connect to the New York Times, go to the library's homepage, library.up.edu, and choose the Subject Guides tab. And you could access The New York Times under either News or History. For today, we'll choose History and choose the Primary Sources tab, where there's a Newspapers box, where you could find all of our online newspapers for Oregon, for across the U.S., outside of the U.S. Or newspaper indexes which offer only citations rather than full text. New York Times is under U.S. Here's The New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers). Note that the coverage is 1851 through 2016. So I'm going to connect to the New York Times. 

And today I want to search for articles about the Battle of Lorraine, which happened during World War I. Now at the time period that the battle occurred, the battle probably didn't have a name yet. So I'm going to put in the word "battle" and "Lorraine" because I would expect both of those words to appear in articles about that battle. Note as well, the capitalization doesn't matter. I can enter Lorraine a capital L or a lowercase l, and it won't make a difference in my search results. Now I want to focus my search by publication date. So I'm going to choose a Specific Date Range. And I will enter the months in which the battle occurred. Now I could put in the specific dates of the battle, but I also want to find articles from the dates immediately before or immediately after the battle, which might also be of interest to me. So I'm going to search just by month and year. And it'll find 99 results. 

Now note by default that your search results are sorted by relevance. So the best articles, the best matches will come up at the top of the results. If you prefer to look through the articles chronologically, you could sort by Oldest First Most Recent First. So if I search for Oldest First, I would find articles at first which maybe don't look very relevant because they occur before the start of the battle. As I scroll further into my results, I'll get to the start of the battle and articles about what was occurring. But for now I'm going to go back to my search by Relevance. And I can quickly skim the titles to see articles that might be of interest. I can see the dates, so I know when the articles occurred during the timeline of the battle. 

Or I could click on a title to go to the full text of the article. So here's the PDF of the full text of this article. And in addition, you can access a PDF; a PDF of the page views with the entire page on which this article appears. So here's the article that we were looking at. But now we can see other headlines, other articles on this page which might also be of interest to us, where it also helps to put these events in context with what else was occurring in the world at this time period. Now I have a couple of choices of what I can do with these PDFs. I can download them. I can email it to myself, I could print it out, or I also can get a citation. 

So if I click on Cite, you can choose a variety of different citation styles. For history, you would want Chicago 17th edition. So you could copy this citation, paste it into a Word document or a bibliography. But keep in mind, you'll want to verify the citation to make it accurate. Citations the database provides are good head starts. They usually include the information you need to cite the article. The Chicago Style formatting may not be entirely accurate. So check this citation against your favorite Chicago Style guide. And the Subject Guides often include a link to a Cite Sources tab; for History. It's Cite Sources: Chicago that will link you to a citation guide that we created in the UP library, the Purdue OWL, the online Chicago Manual of Style. So different sources that you can go to to verify this citation. 

So I hope this has helped to give you a headstart in how to access historical newspaper articles from The New York Times. Please contact the library if you have any questions about finding newspaper articles or anything else related to your research.

How to: Search Historical Times of London Articles [Transcript]

Hello and welcome to this tutorial about searching for newspaper articles from The Times of London.

In order to access the Times of London, go to the library's website, library.up.edu, and choose the Subject Guides tab. Under the Subject Guides tab, you can connect to the Times of London from either News or History. For today, we'll choose History, and go to the Primary Sources tab. And the Newspapers box will connect you to a variety of online newspapers from Oregon, from across the U.S., from outside of the U.S., or newspapers that offer citations only rather than full text. For the Times we want Outside of the U.S. And note we have two options for accessing the Times of London: the Times Digital Archive, which covers 1785 to 2014, or the Sunday Times Digital Archive, which covers 1822 to 2006. For today, we want the Times Digital Archive.

And I want to search for articles about Napoleon's escape from Elba. So I'm going to type in "napoleon and elba." Note the capitalization doesn't matter. I can enter my search terms in lowercase or uppercase, and I will get the same results. Now, Napoleon escaped from Elba in 1815; right up front, I get over 800 results and the top results are from prior to his escape. So I went to filter or focus my search by publication date, so I can find articles closer to the time period of his escape. So I will choose Between and I will enter the date of his escape, which was the 20th of March, 1815. And I'll look for articles through the end of March, so the 31st of March, 1815. Now Apply my results. Okay, now I have just six articles from that time period.

Now from the article titles, it's not always clear how the article refers to Napoleon or Elba. You could go to the Keyword Preview to see some of your keywords in context. So I can see it looks like there's some kind of statement by Napoleon in this particular article. So I will click on the title of the article so that I can see more detail and see the full text of the article. Okay, so here's the beginning of the title of my article. I could scroll through it. I could try to move around, or I have the option to look at my Search Term Hits. So it looks like three of my search terms matched within the article. And if I click on it, I can see, okay, here's the end of that statement by Napoleon. So I can take a closer look at it. And I also could scroll further through the article, and see: here's a reference to Elba; I see it's a reference to when Napoleon left the Isle of Elba. So this article looks like it's something that I might want to take a closer look at. Now I'll also note, while you are immediately looking at the PDF of the text of this specific article, you also have the option to look at the text of the entire page of the newspaper, so that you could see this article in context. So here was our article from the Journal of the Department of the Rhone. Looks like on this page there are also French Papers. So I could look at other articles from that same page of the newspaper. Or I can toggle back to my specific article.

Now, in order to save this article, I have a row of icons of a variety of ways that I could save this content. I could send it or email it to myself. I could download it. I can print it. I could get a link. So a stable or permanent link or permalink to help me get back directly to this article. And, as in many other library databases, you also can cite the article. So if I choose Cite, I have a choice of three main citation styles; for history, you would want to choose Chicago 17th edition. And then you could copy this bibliography citation and put it into your paper. But keep in mind when you copy a citation, you want to verify it to make sure the Chicago style is accurate. Often there are some minor changes or tweaks that are needed in order to make these citations accurate. So compare it against your favorite Chicago style source. If I go back to the subject guide, there's a Cite Sources: Chicago tab that links to a variety of sources you could use: the Chicago Style Citation Guide we've created in the UP Library, the Purdue OWL Chicago Style page, or the online version of the Chicago Manual of Style.

I hope this tutorial has helped you to be able to find an access full text newspaper articles from the digital archive of The Times of London. Please contact the library through any of these methods, if you have any questions about finding newspaper articles or any other aspect of your research.

How to: Find Book Reviews [Transcript]

Hello and welcome to this tutorial about finding book reviews. 

Let's say you want to find a review of this book: Empire's Crossroads: A History of the Caribbean from Columbus to the Present Day. From the library's website, library.up.edu There are several places where I could search for book reviews. 

The first is our library catalog, UP Library Search, which is the search box here on the library's homepage. I would want to search under UP + Summit + Articles, since book reviews will be included as part of those articles. Just enter the title of the book into the search box and press Search or hit the Enter key. And my search results will include both the book itself, look for the words Print Book about the citation, as well as book reviews. So look for the word Reviews above the citation. Or I could focus my search to only find book reviews by using the left sidebar. Under the Format menu, I can choose Reviews. And if you don't see the Reviews option, choose the Show More link to see the complete list of Formats. So I'll choose Reviews to focus my search to only book reviews. To access the reviews choose either the title of the review or the Available Online link. And this will take me to a list of options for accessing the full text of this review. So there's multiple Get it now links which connect to library databases or other places where you could get the full text of this review. If there's more than one Get it now link, try the first one and if for any reason, it doesn't take you to the full text. Then try the next one in the list. So I'll try the first Get it now link, which will connect me to a library database. And now I can choose the HTML Full Text link in order to access the full text of the review. So here is the text of my book review. I go back to the library catalog. I'll point out that if you didn't have Get it now links or if they Get it now links didn't take you to the full text of the review. You always have the option to request the review from interlibrary loan. So just choose this link, request the item, the library will obtain a PDF of that book review for you, and we'll send you an email letting you know when its available. 

I'm going to return to the library's home page. And another place where you can search for book reviews is by searching an academic database that covers the subject area which is closely related to the subject of your book. So for the book that we're researching today, history would be the closest subject area. So to find the best places to search, I can choose the Subject Guides tab, and then choose History. And the Best Bets for History recommend the best article databases for searching for articles related to history. And these include America: History and Life, which covers America and Canada, or Historical Abstracts, which covers the rest of the world. For the Caribbean, I'm going to choose Historical Abstracts. So now I'm connected to the Historical Abstracts database. I can type in the title of my book. And to limit to reviews, I could choose, under Document Type, to limit specifically to book reviews. And then I can choose the search button to search for reviews of this book. Ok and I find two possibilities. The second one is clearly the title of my book, and I have two full-text links. If you have a choice, choose PDF Full Text, which will offer you the original page layout, including original page numbers and any images or graphs that might have been included. So here's the full text of my book review. And I could choose to Download the PDF, or I could use the icons on the right sidebar to print or to email the book review to myself. 

I hope this tutorial has helped you to learn more about options for finding book reviews. If you have any questions, please go to the library's Get Help/Contact Us, linked from the left sidebar of any library webpage. For all the ways that you can contact the library: chat, telephone, make an appointment, or send an email to the reference librarians. So please be in touch as you have any questions about your research.

library@up.edu | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798 | © 2020 University of Portland, All Rights Reserved