Skip to Main Content
Databases for finding journal articles
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Biochemistry, chemistry, and chemical engineering journals, patents, conference proceedings and more. Requires registration for an individual account before using.
Biological Abstracts and Biosis Previews (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Covers biological sciences, including biochemistry. Includes Medline.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Biomedicine, veterinary medicine, pharmacology, microbiology, and genetics. 1949- . The most current Medline citations are available through PubMed
PubMed This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's database for journal articles in medicine and biology, including biochemistry.
Google Scholar (with Get it @ UP) This link opens in a new window
Search the scholarly literature across many disciplines. For a more focused search within the science disciplines, use the other databases listed above.
PubMed vs. Medline
Medline is an important biomedical literature database that is part of PubMed (a free database from the National Library of Medicine).
Other commercial (for fee) database providers have incorporated that free Medline information into their databases. The above databases (Biological Abstracts and SciFinder-n) include Medline, so you are automatically searching it at the same time.
There can be a lag of a few months between what is in PubMed and these commercial databases. If you need to see the most current research, then search PubMed.
Some Key Science Journals
email@example.com | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
Copyright © University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com