This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University of Portland Clark Library

BUS 522: Marketing Research: Industry Background

NAICS (North American Industry Classification System)

Do you know the NAICS code for the industry you are researching?  Are you researching a company and need to know its NAICS code to learn more about the industry?

The federal government assigns these codes to business establishments for data collection and reporting purposes.  Many research resources, such as databases, utilize NAICS codes for searching purposes, to provide a uniform name for industries.

For example: does a particular database call your industry "shoes" or "footwear"? "Apparel" or "clothing"? If you have the NAICS code in hand, you don't have to worry about the words the database uses.

Note: many of the library databases also display "SIC" / Standard Industrial Classification numbers, which have not been updated since 1987 but are still widely used. See "What is the difference between NAICS Codes and SIC Codes?" for more information.

Find NAICS codes for a specific industry using one of the resources below.

First option: Acquire NAICS code from company profile.
* Hoover's Company Profiles in Nexis Uni (Multiple codes) -- Search is for Microsoft but you should be able to edit it.
* Mergent Online (Single code in banner; additional codes in "Business" sub-tab under "Company Details" tab)
* Look up your company in Nexis Uni: Find a Company. On the Snapshot page, look under "Industry Classification" and "All Classifications" to see a list of NAICS codes.

Second option: Search NAICS system directly if you have a good sense of vocabulary; also use this search to see industry segments.
* Search NAICS

Watch a tutorial video about NAICS (00:02:35): https://libguides.up.edu/tutorials/databases/naics

Industry Profiles

These databases are presented in order of detail, with the most detailed at the top.

library@up.edu | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
© 2020 University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com