Library Guides: BUS 522: Marketing Research: Additional Macro-Environment

Trade Publications

Improve your understanding of the industry macro-environment
by searching these databases for industry publications:

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business journals and magazines, as well as company, industry, country, and market research reports. Some full text. 1922-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full text of newspapers and other news sources, as well as business & legal information. Restricted to UP students, faculty and staff.

Financial Data

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international company data, including financials, equity pricing, insider trading, and institutional holdings. Includes some private companies. Sustainability module evaluates companies on Environment, Social, and Governance (ESG) criteria. Restricted to UP students, faculty and staff, for research purposes only.

Political and Legal Initiatives

Lobbyists represent trade associations in Congress and try to influence legislation. You can learn about the legislative issues that trade associations are concerned about by reading the lobbyists' quarterly activity reports which are archived at this site.

Lobbying Disclosure Act database at U.S. Senate
Enter a trade association in the Client search box to see if it has employed lobbyists to attempt to influence legislation.
Lobbying Disclosure search at U.S. House of Representatives
Search for the trade association and filter by year.
Open Secrets Lobbying Database
Search by name for a company, lobbying firm or individual lobbyist; search for the total spending by a particular industry; view the interests that lobbied a particular government agency; or search for lobbying on a general issue or specific piece of legislation.

These databases provide lists of trade associations:

* Gale Business Insights: Global
- Look for "Associations" in the left-hand filters list after you look up an industry
* Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the US
- Select the most recent volume and search within it
* IBISWorld
- Under About: Additional Resources
* Mintel Academic
- Under Appendix: Data Sources and Abbreviations

Another way to locate trade associations is to search the Internet and enter your industry name followed by the word "association," e.g., ["video games" association].