Library Guides: ED 537/558: Research in Schools/Educational Research for Improved Student Learning: Searching the Literature

Education Databases

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Leading resource for education. Some full text. 1966-

The ERIC database includes two types of resources:

EJ (ERIC Journal) = Includes articles from peer reviewed journals and professional magazines.
ED (ERIC Documents) = Includes research reports, conference papers, handbooks, and other sources other than journal articles. Quality may vary.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Full text education journals and books. 1929-

Library Catalog (UP Library Search)

Use UP Library Search to find books, streaming videos, online resources, journal articles, and much more (Search Tips). Need help? See handouts for Finding Books on the Shelf and Requesting Clark Library and Summit Items online.

Databases From Other Disciplines:

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Psychology and behavioral science journals, books, conference papers, and more. Some full text. 1887-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology and related disciplines, including social work and criminal justice. Some full text. 1895-
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Sport, fitness, and physical education journal articles and books. Some full text. 1800-

Searching Tips

Use the asterisk ( * ) to look for multiple spellings or variations of a word:

educat* finds educate, educating, education

Use quotation marks ( " " ) to search for 2 or more words as an exact phrase:

"differentiated instruction"

"high schools"

Advanced Searching for Education Research

This tutorial presents advanced strategies for searching the ERIC database for education research, including identifying relevant search terms, accessing full text, and saving citations.

Don't see a video? Try the direct link

Video transcript on separate page