This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University of Portland Clark Library

ED 555: Teacher as Researcher: Searching the Education Literature

Essential Education Databases

ERIC Journal (EJ) vs ERIC Document (ED)

ERIC Database Source Types EJ = ERIC Journal

Journal articles indexed by the US Department of Education.  Includes peer reviewed journals, as well as professional newsletters and magazines.

ED = ERIC Document

Non-journal sources indexed and collected by the US Department of Education. Includes reports, conference papers, issue papers, monographs, lesson plans, and more. Not peer reviewed.

ERIC database citation

Reflections on Theory and Pedagogy of Challenges in Facilitating Children's Dialogues in the Community of Inquiry

By: Canuto, Abigail Thea O. International Journal of Whole Schooling, v11 n1 p1-15 Jan 2015. (EJ1048089)

 

What Makes Teachers Reflect to Improve Their Practice? Reflective Practice in a Social-Organizational Context

By: Croasdaile, Susanne. Online Submission, Paper presented at the Meeting of the American Educational Research Association (Annual, Chicago, IL, 2007). 2007 14 pp. (ED505866)

APA style citation Canuto, A. T. O. (2015). Reflections on theory and pedagogy of challenges in facilitating children's dialogues in the community of inquiry. International Journal of Whole Schooling, 11(1), 1-15. Croasdaile, S. (2007). What makes teachers reflect to improve their practice? Reflective practice in a social-organizational context. Retrieved from ERIC Database. (ED505866)

 

UP Library Search

Search: for:  

Use UP Library Search to find books, streaming videos, online resources, journal articles, and much more (Search Tips). Need help? See handouts for Finding Books on the Shelf and Requesting Clark Library and Summit Items online.

Advanced Searching for Education Research

This tutorial presents advanced strategies for searching the ERIC database for education research, including identifying relevant search terms, accessing full text, and saving citations.

Cited by Searching: Finding Who Cited A Key Resource

Search Google Scholar for key articles that you have located on your topic to look for more current publications that cited your original article.


Choose the Cited by link to find more current publications that cited your original article:

Cited by link highlighted


Browse through the list of citations, or search within citing articles to find a specific topic:

Search within citing articles checkbox highlighted

library@up.edu | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
Copyright © University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com