Library Guides: ED 600: Introduction to Doctoral Research: Searching the Education Literature

Education-focused Databases

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Leading resource for education. Some full text. 1966-
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Full text education journals and books. 1929-
ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles about education, including several Canadian education journals. Some full text. 1988-

Searching Related Disciplines

Databases for other Disciplines
Your topic may also be addressed by other disciplines like psychology, sociology, or history. Consult the library subject guides to find the specialized databases for each discipline.

Google Scholar: A Multidisciplinary Search Tool

Google Scholar (with Get it @ UP) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles across many disciplines. This Google Scholar includes Get it @ UP links in results so you can easily connect to full text available through the Clark Library. Activate this feature in your version of Google Scholar (see: how to connect Google Scholar to UP's full text).

Cited by Searching: Finding Who Cited A Key Resource

Search Google Scholar for key articles that you have located on your topic to look for more current publications that cited your original article.

Choose the Cited by link to find more current publications that cited your original article:

Browse through the list of citations, or search within citing articles to find a specific topic:

Advanced Searching for Education Research

This tutorial presents advanced strategies for searching the ERIC database for education research, including identifying relevant search terms, accessing full text, and saving citations.

Don't see a video? Try the direct link

Video transcript on separate page

Linking Google Scholar to Clark Library Full Text

Don't see a video? Try the direct link.

Video transcript on separate page