Library Guides: EGR 110: Introduction to Engineering: Engineering Research Tools

Engineering Village: a Google Scholar for engineers

Engineering Village
Engineering journal articles, reports, conference proceedings, and books. 1969-

Search Tips

+Add search field and use Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT) to broaden or narrow a search.
Use filters to limit searches by date, language, document type, etc.
Use refine column options to narrow to relevant results.
Look at the references for a good result to identify other useful sources.
Engineering Village Tutorials

Use UP Library Search to find books, streaming videos, online resources, journal articles, and much more (Search Tips). Need help? See handouts for Finding Books on the Shelf and Requesting Clark Library and Summit Items online.

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full text of IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals and conference proceedings; and IEEE published standards.
Tip: On results screen, select the Subscribed Content filter to see full text available through UP's subscription. 1988-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Environment and its connections to agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. Some full text.
ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Environmental science, ecology, biotechnology, toxicology and water resources journal articles. Some full text. 1970-
ProQuest Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database‎ This link opens in a new window
Earth science, aquatic resources, meteorology, climatology, hydrology, and glaciology journal articles. Some full text. 1950-

Connect to Knovel
A collection of online engineering and technical reference handbooks and books.

Knovel also provides data and calculation tools for engineers. Set up a MyKnovel account to make full use of them.

Statista
Provides statistics across 600 industries and over 50 countries gathered and compiled by market researchers, trade organizations, and government sources.
TIP: Enter keywords for engineering-related topics to find data and reports.

Science.gov: Your Gateway to U.S. Federal Science
Find scientific and technical reports produced by government agencies.