Library Guides: Ethnic Studies: Primary Sources

Search Terms for Primary Sources

Add one of these terms to your search to find primary sources.

Bibliography
Charters
Grants
Privileges
Correspondence
Description and Travel
Diaries
Interviews
Pamphlets
Personal Narratives
Sources
Speeches

Websites

Asian Voices
Documents relating the Asian American experience from the mid-1800s to the mid-1900s.
Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive: Chinese Americans
Primary documents that tell the story of ethnic groups along the Columbia River Basin (encompassing areas of Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Wyoming, Utah and and British Columbia).
Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive: Japanese Americans
Primary documents that tell the story of ethnic groups along the Columbia River Basin (encompassing areas of Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Wyoming, Utah and and British Columbia).
The Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement: A Digital Archive
More than 500,000 materials on Japanese internment from the University of California at Berkeley, including firsthand accounts and government records.
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life (Archives Unbound)
Digital collection of Japanese relocation camp newspapers.
Korean American Digital Archive
The Korean American Digital Archive brings more than 13,000 pages of documents, over 1,900 photographs, and about 180 sound files together in one searchable collection that documents the Korean American community during the period of resistance to Japanese rule in Korea and reveal the organizational and private experience of Koreans in America between 1903 and 1965.
South Asian American Digital Archive
Documents, preserves, and shares stories that represent the unique and diverse experiences of South Asian Americans.
Southeast Asian Archive
The Archive collects materials relating to the resettlement of Southeast Asian refugees and immigrants in the U.S., and the culture and history of Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam. There is a special focus on Southeast Asians in Orange County and California.

African American Migration Experience
Presents images, texts and maps that explore "thirteen defining migrations that formed and transformed African America" from 1450 to the present.
Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive: African Americans
Primary documents that tell the story of ethnic groups along the Columbia River Basin (encompassing areas of Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Wyoming, Utah and and British Columbia).
Urban League of Portland Records, 1910-2014
The Urban League of Portland Records document the administration and programs of the League from its founding in Portland, Oregon, in 1945.

Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive: Mexican Americans
Primary documents that tell the story of ethnic groups along the Columbia River Basin (encompassing areas of Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Wyoming, Utah and and British Columbia).
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
Documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

American Indian Constitutions and Legal Materials
Historical constitutions and legal materials digitized from the Law Library of Congress collection.
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection
Digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures.
The Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History
"Provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes. Related are accounts of Indian ceremonies, customs, social conditions, philosophies, and standards of living."

Ethnic Studies: Primary Sources

What is a Primary Source?

Search Terms for Primary Sources

Websites