Library Guides: NRS 307/309 Clinical Reasoning Seminar: CINAHL, etc. AND Levels of Evidence

Resources for Finding Nursing Research

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
Nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes Pre-CINAHL (most recent articles). Some full text. 1937-
MEDLINE
Biomedicine, veterinary medicine, pharmacology, microbiology, and genetics. 1949- . The most current Medline citations are available through PubMed.
PubMed
National Library of Medicine's database for journals in medicine and biology. Get help searching PubMed. 1949-
Cochrane Library
Full text of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and six other Cochrane Library databases covering the effects of interventions in health care, research methodology and evidence-based practice.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium
Journals covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, as well as clinical nursing skills videos. Some full text.

Multidisciplinary - Google Scholar

Determining Levels of Evidence

Clinical Reasoning Seminar students should have a copy of this document; the librarians have placed it here for us to refer to when advising you on levels of evidence.

Johns Hopkins Levels of Evidence Pages

Levels of Evidence (SUNY Upstate Medical University Health Sciences Library)
See more detailed explanations about the types of literature described under the Johns Hopkins Levels of Evidence.

Advanced Searching for PICOT Questions

Don’t see a video? Try the direct link

Video transcript on separate page

Slides from Spring 2025 Session

Age Limiters in Library Databases

Some of the databases frequently used by NRS students have special limiters for different age groups; using these limiters is a great way to find articles about your specific population. Limiters can be items you select from a list (default) or text you enter in a search box (noted below).

Topic	CINAHL	ERIC	MEDLINE	PsycInfo
Infants & Toddlers	Infant, Newborn: birth-1 month Infant: 1-23 months All Infant	Infants^^ Neonates^^ Infant Behavior/Care/Mortality^^ Toddlers^^	Infant, Newborn: birth-1 month Infant: 1-23 months All Infant: birth-23 months	Neonatal (birth-1 mo) Infancy (2-23 mo)
Early Childhood	Child, Preschool: 2-5 years Child, Preschool^^	Preschool Education Kindergarten	Child, Preschool: 2-5 years	Preschool Age (2-5 yrs)
Middle Childhood	Child: 6-12 years	Elementary Education Primary Education Specific grades (Grade 1, Grade 2, etc.)	Child: 6-12 years	School Age (6-12 yrs)
Adolescence	Adolescent: 13-18 years	Junior High Schools Middle Schools High Schools Specific grades (Grade 6, Grade 7, etc.)	Adolescent: 13-18 years	Adolescence (13-17 yrs)
Early Adulthood	Young Adult^^ (19-24 years)	Higher Education	Young Adult: 19-44 yrs	Young Adulthood (18-29 yrs) Thirties (30-39 yrs)
Middle Adulthood	Middle Aged: 45-64 years	Adult Education	Middle Aged: 45-64 years	Middle Age (40-64 yrs)
Late Adulthood	Aged 65+ Aged, 80 and over		Aged: 65+ years Aged, 80 and over	Aged (65 yrs & older) Very Old (85 yrs & older)
End of Life	Hospice Patients^^ Hospice and Palliative Nursing^^		Palliative Care^^ Terminal Care^^	Palliative Care^^

^^Subject Heading rather than Age Group