Library Guides: DNP / Nursing Transfer Students Orientation: Searching the Nursing Literature

Nursing & Medicine Databases: Best Bets

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes Pre-CINAHL (most recent articles). Some full text. 1937-
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Biomedicine, veterinary medicine, pharmacology, microbiology, and genetics. 1949- . The most current Medline citations are available through PubMed.

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of complementary and alternative medicine scholarly journals and general interest publications. 1990-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and six other Cochrane Library databases covering the effects of interventions in health care, research methodology and evidence-based practice.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's database for journals in medicine and biology. Get help searching PubMed. 1949-

Databases for other Disciplines
Your topic may also be addressed by other disciplines like psychology, sociology, or history. Consult the library subject guides to find the specialized databases for each discipline.

Google Scholar (with Get it @ UP) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles across many disciplines. This Google Scholar includes Get it @ UP links in results so you can easily connect to full text available through the Clark Library. Activate this feature in your version of Google Scholar (see: how to connect Google Scholar to UP's full text).