Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Psychology Starting Points
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Psychology and behavioral science journals, books, conference papers, and more. Some full text. 1887-
APA PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Search for ready-to-use tests and measures relevant to psychology and related fields such as education, communication, medicine, business, and more. Tests are provided (when available) along with reliability and validity data.
Biology & Medicine Databases
Biological Abstracts and Biosis Previews (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Covers life science journals, books and more. Also includes the Medline database. 1950-
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Biomedicine, veterinary medicine, pharmacology, microbiology, and genetics. 1949- . The most current Medline citations are available through PubMed
Sociology & Social Work Starting Points
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology and related disciplines, including social work and criminal justice. Some full text. 1895-
Multidisciplinary - Google Scholar
Using a Thesaurus and Preferred Subject Terms in Your Database Search
Ebsco Database Searching Tips
- Use truncation symbols to find variations in spelling and word form.
personalit* will find personality, personalities
- Expand your search by using “or” between words that are similar or synonymous. Results will have either keyword or both keywords.
memor* or retention
- Multiple words will be found within five words of each other. To search multiple words as a phrase, put the phrase in quotes.
bad memory Retrieves results with words within five words of each other.
One of the results is titled: Can bad weather improve your memory?
“bad memory” Retrieves results with that exact phrase.
firstname.lastname@example.org | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
Copyright © University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com