Library Guides: Scholarly Publishing: Measure Your Research Impact

Research Impact with Google Scholar

Google Scholar Citations provide a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles. You can check who is citing your publications, graph citations over time, and compute several citation metrics. You can also make your profile public, so that it may appear in Google Scholar results when people search for your name.

Beyond Google Scholar: Harzing's Publish or Perish

Harzing's Publish or Perish
"Publish or Perish (PoP) is a downloadable software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It uses Google Scholar and (since release 4.1) Microsoft Academic Search to obtain the raw citations, then analyzes these and presents statistic and scholarly metrics including the H Index and others.
more...less...
Note: Google Scholar citations are not always from scholarly journals or books. PoP allows you to screen out non-scholarly content and recalculate.

Databases with Citation Counts

UP has access to the following databases that track how many times publications are cited. Note: you'll need to search EBSCO databases individually to see citation counts; this information doesn't appear in the EBSCO system when you combine databases.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Biological Abstracts and Biosis Previews (Web of Science)

Communication Source (EBSCO)

IEEE Xplore

MathSciNet

PsycInfo (EBSCO)

SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)

UP Library Search

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Scholarly Publishing: Measure Your Research Impact

Getting Started

Research Impact with Google Scholar

Beyond Google Scholar: Harzing's Publish or Perish

Databases with Citation Counts