Library Guides: Scholarly Publishing: Where to Publish

Choosing the Right Journal

Cabell's Scholarly Analytics
Source for journal info, evaluation metrics, and submission details. UP's subscription covers Education, Nursing & Health Administration, and Psychology.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Over 10,000 journals covered. To identify journals in your discipline, browse by subject and limit results to "Journals."

Web of Science Manuscript Matcher
Find relevant, reputable journals for potential publication of your research based on an analysis of tens of millions of citation connections in Web of Science Core Collection using Manuscript Matcher.

Journal/Article Name Estimator (JANE)
Enter your article title or abstract and JANE will provide a list of journals that may be appropriate for your submission. JANE matches your title, abstract, or keywords to millions of documents in MEDLINE to help determine the best journals for your research.

Harzing Journal Quality List
A collection of smaller, well-regarded journal rankings lists. It's intention is to give scholars a tool to "target papers at journals of an appropriate standard." The Harzing list is mostly comprised of journals from the disciplines of Economics, Finance, Accounting, Management, and Marketing.
MLA International Directory of Periodicals
Contains information on over 6,000 journals and book series that fall within the scope of the MLA International Bibliography.

Determine a Journal's Credibility

Publishers' Website Evaluation Tool
Evaluate a journal based on the publisher's site. Developed by UT-San Antonio librarians Emme Lopez and Christine Gaspard, 2018.
How to Assess a Journal
Infographic from the Canadian Association of Research Libraries.
Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing
Article (PDF) from the nonprofit organization Committee on Publication Ethics.
8 Ways to Identify a Questionable Open Access Journal
Article from American Journal Experts.
Journal Evaluation Tool
This rubric developed by the Loyola Marymount University Library focuses on evaluating Open Access journals, but can be applied broadly to identify publishing opportunities.

Use Google Scholar

Google Scholar logo Google Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of scholarly publications, based on citation of recent articles indexed by Google Scholar. Browse the top 100 publications in several languages, or select the "Categories" menu to browse by discipline.

Evaluate a Journal

Think Check Submit
A campaign to help researchers identify trusted journals for their research, using a checklist to assess the credentials of a journal or publisher. Produced by a cross-industry coalition, including the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE), the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), and BioMed Central.

About Academia.edu and ResearchGate

Understanding Academia.edu and ResearchGate
Advice from the University of Oklahoma Libraries about these publication-sharing websites.

Journal Impact Factor

You may want to use impact measures to choose a journal in which to publish because these measures can be seen as a proxy for quality or influence within a field. One of these measures, "Impact Factor," is frequently associated with Thomson-Reuters' Journal Citation Reports (JCR). UP does not subscribe to JCR, but you can use the resources listed below to evaluate a journal's impact in other ways.

Scimago Journal and Country Rank
Scimago Journal and Country Rank (Scimago JR) uses Scopus data to compare journals by h-index and average citations per published document, as well as to rank countries by scholarly output.

Elsevier Journal Metrics
Access three different measures of citation impact: Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP), Impact per Publication (IPP), and SCImago Journal Rank (SJR).

EIGENFACTOR.org
Eigenfactor scores are intended to give a measure of how likely a journal is to be used, and are thought to reflect how frequently an average researcher would access content from that journal.