Skip to Main Content
Sociology and Social Work Journal Articles
Pro Tip: Use specialized search engines (aka library databases) to quickly find and connect to scholarly sources such as journal articles.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology and related disciplines, including social work and criminal justice. Some full text. 1895-
Public Policy Background and Advocacy
Fair Shot for All
A coalition of over twenty Oregon labor unions, community groups, and racial justice organizations "with a clear recognition that our economy is broken and the status quo simply doesn’t work for many of us—women, people of color, LGBTQ communities, immigrants and working families."
Think Tank Search Engine
Harvard's Kennedy School of Government built this custom Google Search engine that searches more than 700 think tanks for policy reports.
This nonprofit organization aims to convene diverse voices in the United States to find common ground on education, health care, and community engagement.
National Association of Social Workers: Policy Issues
Read about NASW's advocacy efforts in the current Congress.
Citizens' Climate Lobby
"We exist to create the political will for climate solutions by enabling individual breakthroughs in the exercise of personal and political power."
Oregon Environmental Council: Legislative Priorities
Focusing on "expanding Oregon’s clean energy economy, creating more resilient and healthy communities, improving water security, reducing the prevalence of toxics in our homes and landscapes, and ensuring that the state budget is aligned with its adopted environmental and community goals."
Oregon Housing Alliance
Brings together a broad coalition of people to envision a state where everyone has a place to call home. The coalition includes advocates, local governments, housing authorities, community development corporations, environmentalists, service providers, business interests and all others dedicated to increasing the resources available to meet Oregon's housing needs to support a common statewide legislative and policy agenda.
Oregon Office of Economic Analysis: Housing
Provides objective forecasts of the state’s economy, revenue, population, corrections population, and Youth Authority population.
National Indian Law Library
The National Indian Law Library (NILL) is a law library devoted to American Indian law. It serves both the Native American Rights Fund (NARF) and the public. NILL serves the public by developing and making accessible a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and by providing direct research assistance and delivery of information.
Oregon Justice Resource Center: SB 819 Petitions
Senate Bill 819 (SB 819) is an Oregon law (ORS 137.218) that allows for re-sentencing of a person who was sentenced to any felony other than aggravated murder when the district attorney for the county where the person was sentenced agrees, and the sentencing court finds, that the sentence no longer advances the interests of justice.
Conservative Criminal Justice Reform: Oregon
The American Conservative Union Foundation's Nolan Center for Justice promotes policies "that improve public safety, reduce government cost, and protect human dignity in our justice system."
Founded in 1976, Prison Fellowship® exists to serve all those affected by crime and incarceration and to see lives and communities restored in and out of prison—one transformed life at a time.
History and Background
In-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social policy issues. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
UP + Summit + Articles searchbox
firstname.lastname@example.org | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
Copyright © University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com