Library Guides: Business: Global Business

Reports

Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Business journals and magazines, company profiles, market research reports, and more. Includes content from reference books such as Market Share Reporter, Business Rankings Annual, and Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries. Some full text.
Business Source Premier: All Country Reports This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains reports such as monthly Country Monitor, yearly Country Profile and yearly historical Country Review. This search engine lets you browse all of them at once.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Country profiles including business culture, education systems, social customs, health and medical information, and more.

globalEDGE
A gateway to international business information, including country profiles, statistical and trade information, marketing studies and more.
Country Commercial Guides at the International Trade Administration
Provides advice on the following and more, for over 125 countries:
Market Overview, Challenges, Opportunities & Entry Strategies
Political Environment
Leading Sectors for U.S. Exports and Investment
Investment Climate Statement
Trade and Project Financing
Business Travel

Global Market Finder
Quickly analyze export markets by product and destination. Learn more from this press release.
IMF Direction of Trade Statistics
Presents the value of merchandise exports and imports disaggregated according to a country's primary trading partners.
TradeStats Express
Get the latest annual and quarterly trade data from the U.S. International Trade Administration. Retrieve, visualize, analyze, print and download your customized output.
United Nations COMTRADE Database
Download data directly from the United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics (COMTRADE) site. NOTE: search for "USA" rather than "United States."
USA Trade Online
Gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data, after free registration.

Atlas of Economic Complexity
The Atlas of Economic Complexity is "a powerful interactive tool that enables users to visualize a country’s total trade, track how these dynamics change over time and explore growth opportunities for more than a hundred countries worldwide." (from publisher). Data come from United Nations COMTRADE database.
ILOSTAT -- International Labour Organization Database of Labour Statistics
View country profiles or compare countries on indicators such as labor costs, social security, earnings, and (un)employment.

International Statistical Yearbook -- no longer available
Try these alternative resources:
IMF Datamapper or
Statista

RFE (Resources for Economists) World and Non-U.S. Data
Links to web sites providing economic data, country studies, and lists of regional, national, and international organizations.
World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe. Includes World Development Indicators. Scroll below results to see related statistics, and comparison information for other countries.
National Statistical Offices
Central repository of countries' national statistics offices, from the United Nations Statistics Division.

Global Consumption Database
The Global Consumption Database is part of the World Bank. It's a one-stop source of data on household consumption patterns in developing countries. The data are based on national household surveys, which collect information for a group of households representative of the entire country. For each of the countries covered, the resulting datasets have been used to calculate the share of the population at different levels of consumption.