Library Guides: IHW 101: Introduction to Integrative Health in Populations: Databases

IHW 101 Databases

Complementary Medicine @ MEDLINE
Search of the National Library of Medicine database MEDLINE, pre-limited to Complementary Medicine journals.

Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Separate Health & Wellness database rates effectiveness of specific diets and activities as well as some therapies.

More Databases

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of complementary and alternative medicine scholarly journals and general interest publications. 1990-
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes Pre-CINAHL (most recent articles). Some full text. 1937-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and six other Cochrane Library databases covering the effects of interventions in health care, research methodology and evidence-based practice.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Health information (including alternative health) compiled from reference books, journals, videos and pamphlets. Full text. 1980-
PubMed This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's database for journals in medicine and biology. Get help searching PubMed. 1949-
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Sport, fitness, and physical education journal articles and books. Some full text. 1800-

Interdisciplinary Resources

Interdisciplinary Resources
See a list of interdisciplinary resources for searching across multiple subject areas.

Filtering Your Results

After you search, most library databases will let you filter your results. In the MEDLINE database, for example, some of the major filters you'll want to use are Peer Reviewed, Language, and Publication Date. Subject: Major Heading is also a good one, to filter your search by subtopic.

Watch out! We encourage you to avoid the Full Text and Geography filters. Selecting Full Text will remove many articles that you can obtain elsewhere, and selecting Geography will filter on where a journal is published, not the location of a study.