This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University of Portland Clark Library

SW 101: Social Work and Social Justice: Chain of Research

Strategy

Found a good article? Check out the articles it cites, and use database or Google Scholar tools to find articles that cite it. This helps you follow the "chain of research" on a topic and get a better idea of the research conversation.

When to Use Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a useful search tool, because you can search the full text of articles. Use it for these purposes:

  • Locate articles when you feel stuck
  • Identify a useful article, and bring it back to Clark Library databases to see how they describe it
    • You might find the database subject terms, to help you find similar articles.
  • Bring an article to Google Scholar from Clark Library databases, to find newer articles that cite it.
    • Search within citing articles to make sure the newer articles are relevant.

Tools

When searching an individual database you might see "Times Cited in this Database" below a citation. Select the link to find articles that cite it. Google Scholar will give you a similar "cited by" link to find citing articles.

When searching an individual database you might see "Times Cited in this Database". Select the link to find articles that cite the example here.

Google Scholar will give you a similar "cited by" link to citing articles.

 

Use the library's link to Google Scholar to see Get it @ UP connections to full text, or change your Google Scholar settings to make the connections appear by reloading the page.

library@up.edu | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
© 2020 University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com