Skip to Main Content
Starting Points for Sociology & Social Work
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology and related disciplines, including social work and criminal justice. Some full text. 1895-
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Criminal justice journals. Full text. 1980-
Exploring Race and Society This link opens in a new window
Covers topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity, and inclusiveness.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly and general interest articles and books about gender studies.
Google Scholar can be a useful search tool, because you can search the full text of articles. Use it for these purposes:
- Locate articles when you feel stuck
- Identify a useful article, and bring it back to Communication Source (etc.), to see how it's described
- You might find usable subject terms, to help you find similar articles.
- A useful article can also give you an author to look up in Communication Source.
- Bring an article to Google Scholar from Clark Library databases, to find newer articles that cite it. See the Chain of Research page for details.
- Search within citing articles to make sure the newer articles are relevant.
More Search Options
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
American & Canadian history books and journals. Some full text. 1964-
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business journals and magazines, as well as company, industry, country, and market research reports. Some full text. 1922-
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Leading resource for education. Some full text. 1966-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Environment and its connections to agriculture, education, law, health, and technology. Some full text.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, interdisciplinary medical journals. Some full text. 1975-
Sustainability Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of sustainability, including environmental stewardship, corporate social responsibility, and environmental regulations. Some full text. 1947-
firstname.lastname@example.org | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
Copyright © University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com