This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University of Portland Clark Library

Chicago Style (17th Edition) Citation Guide: Journal Articles

Formatting

Bibliography:

All citations should be double spaced and have a hanging indent.

A "hanging indent" means that each subsequent line after the first line of your citation should be indented by 0.5 inches.

Footnotes:

All citations should use first line indent, where the first line of the footnote should be indented by 0.5 inches; all subsequent lines are not indented.

Footnotes should be the same font size and style as the rest of your paper.

See instructions for how to insert footnotes in Microsoft Word.

Tips

Author

If there is no known author, start the citation with the title of the article instead.

Access Date

Chicago style does not recommend including access dates in the citation, unless no date of publication for the source may be located.

Journal Article From Library Database with DOI or a URL

When citing articles from online databases (such as ATLA Religion Database or JSTOR), include the DOI (preferred) or the URL to assist your reader in connecting to the article online.

Access dates are not necessary for articles from library databases. Access dates are only necessary if no date of publication for the source may be located.


One Author

Bibliography:

Kilgallen, John J. “The Elder Son.” Expository Times 115, no. 6 (2004): 186-89. https://login.uportland.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.co m/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=1201293 5&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Footnote:

1. John J. Kilgallen, “The Elder Son,” Expository Times 115, no. 6 (2004): 187, https://login.uportland.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.co m/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=12012935 &site=ehost-live&scope=site.


Two to Three Authors

Bibliography:

Ritchie, Daniel E, and Jared Hedges. “Choosing Rest in Paradise Lost.” Christianity and Literature 67, no. 2 (2018): 271–93. doi:10.1177/0148333117725606.

Footnote:

Daniel E. Ritchie and Jared Hedges, “Choosing Rest in Paradise Lost,” Christianity and Literature 67, no. 2 (2018): 271–93, doi:10.1177/0148333117725606.


Four to Ten Authors

For sources with four to ten authors, list all authors in the bibliography; in the footnote, list only the first author’s name followed by the phrase et al. (Latin for “and others”)

Bibliography:

McCorkle, Brian H., Carole Bohn, Tricia Hughes, and David Kim. “‘Sacred Moments’: Social Anxiety in a Larger Perspective.” Mental Health, Religion & Culture 8, no. 3 (September 2005): 227–38. doi:10.1080/13694670500138874.

Footnote:

1. Brian H. McCorkle et al., “Sacred Moments: Social Anxiety in a Larger Perspective,” Mental Health, Religion & Culture 8, no. 3 (2005): 230, doi:10.1080/13694670500138874.

Journal Article from Online Source

Bibliography:

Booij, Thijs. “Psalm 141: A Prayer for Discipline and Protection.” Biblica 86, no. 1 (2005): 97-106. http://www.bsw.org/Biblica/Vol-86-2005/Psalm141-A-Prayer-For-Discipline-AndProtection/130/.

Footnote:

1. Thijs Booij, “Psalm 141: A Prayer for Discipline and Protection,” Biblica 86, no. 1 (2005): 100, http://www.bsw.org/Biblica/Vol-86- 2005/Psalm-141-A-Prayer-For-Discipline-AndProtection/130/.

Journal Article in Print

Bibliography:

Fewell, Danna Nolan, and David M. Gunn. “Boaz, Pillar of Society: Measures of Worth in the Book of Ruth.” Journal for the Study of the Old Testament 45 (1993): 45-59.

Footnote:

1. Danna Nolan Fewell and David M. Gunn, “Boaz, Pillar of Society: Measures of Worth in the Book of Ruth,” Journal for the Study of the Old Testament 45 (1993): 46.

library@up.edu | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
© 2020 University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com