This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University of Portland Clark Library

Chicago Style (17th Edition) Citation Guide: Magazine/Newspaper Articles

How Do I Know If It's a Newspaper?

Not sure whether your article is from a newspaper? Look for these characteristics:

  • Main purpose is to provide readers with a brief account of current events locally, nationally or internationally.
  • Can be published daily, semiweekly or weekly.
  • Written for the general public, readers don't need any previous subject knowledge.
  • Little, if any, information about other sources is provided.

Articles may also come from journals or magazines.

Formatting

Bibliography:

All citations should be double spaced and have a hanging indent.

A "hanging indent" means that each subsequent line after the first line of your citation should be indented by 0.5 inches.

Footnotes:

All citations should use first line indent, where the first line of the footnote should be indented by 0.5 inches; all subsequent lines are not indented.

Footnotes should be the same font size and style as the rest of your paper.

See instructions for how to insert footnotes in Microsoft Word.

Tips

Author

If there is no known author, start the citation with the title of the article instead.

Access Date

Chicago style does not recommend including access dates in the citation, unless no date of publication for the source may be located.

A Note on Magazine/Newspaper Citations

Cite a newspaper article as you would a magazine article. If the newspaper title starts with The, omit The from the title in your citation. 

Since newspapers may have multiple editions, page numbers are usually omitted for newspaper articles.  

If the newspaper is a less well-known or local publication, include the city name and state abbreviation in parentheses after the title of the newspaper. (See Magazine/Newspaper Article In Print example).

Magazine/Newspaper Article From a Website

Bibliography:

Zimmerman, Eilene. "The Many Delicate Issues of Spirituality in the Office." New York Times, August 15, 2004. https://www.nytimes.com/2004/08/15/jobs/the-many-delicate-issues-of-spirituality-in-the-office.html.

Footnote:

1. Eilene Zimmerman, "The Many Delicate Issues of Spirituality in the Office," New York Times, August 15, 2004, https://www.nytimes.com/2004/08/15/jobs/the-many-delicate-issues-of-spirituality-in-the-office.html. 

Magazine/Newspaper Article from Library Database

Bibliography:

Banks, Adelle M. "For Black Millennials, a Space to Discuss Spirituality." Washington Post. August 25, 2018. https://advance.lexis.com/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5T3X-H121-DXXY-3353-00000-00&context=1516831.

Footnote:

1. Adelle M. Banks, "For Black Millennials, a Space to Discuss Spirituality," Washington Post, August 25, 2018, https://advance.lexis.com/api/document?collection=news&id=urn:contentItem:5T3X-H121-DXXY-3353-00000-00&context=1516831.

Magazine/Newspaper Article In Print

Bibliography:

Heltzel, Ellen Emry.  "The Hype and the Hush Around the Historian." Oregonian, September 23, 1999.

Footnote:

1. Ellen Emry Heltzel, "The Hype and the Hush Around the Historian," Oregonian, September 23, 1999.


If the newspaper is a less well-known or local publication, include the city name and state abbreviation in parentheses after the title of the newspaper.

Bibliography:

Behre, Robert. "Presidential Hopefuls Get Final Crack at Core of S.C. Democrats." Post and Courier (Charleston, SC), April 29. 2007.

Footnote:

1. Robert Behre, "Presidential Hopefuls Get Final Crack at Core of S.C. Democrats," Post and Courier (Charleston, SC), April 29. 2007.

library@up.edu | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
© 2020 University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com