This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University of Portland Clark Library

Chicago Style (17th Edition) Citation Guide: Videos & DVDs

Formatting

Bibliography:

All citations should be double spaced and have a hanging indent.

A "hanging indent" means that each subsequent line after the first line of your citation should be indented by 0.5 inches.

Footnotes:

All citations should use first line indent, where the first line of the footnote should be indented by 0.5 inches; all subsequent lines are not indented.

Footnotes should be the same font size and style as the rest of your paper.

See instructions for how to insert footnotes in Microsoft Word.

Tips

Who to Credit?

DVD or Film

Many people can be involved in the production of a video and not all need to be listed in the citation. Typically the director, producer and/or writer are the names that are used. To clarify what role the person has in the production, their job title such as Director or Writer is included before their name.

Streaming Video from a Website

For videos from websites such as YouTube or Vimeo, credit the person who posted the content. If a real name is provided, use that followed by the person's user name in parentheses. If the real name of the person who posted the content is not known, just use their user name without parentheses.

Movie/Film: DVD or Viewed in Theater

Include both the original release year of the film as well as the year that the video was released.

Bibliography:

Singer, Bryan, dir. The Usual Suspects. 1995. Santa Monica, CA: Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, 2014. DVD.

Footnote:

1. The Usual Suspects, directed by Bryan Singer (1995; Santa Monica, CA: Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, 2014), DVD.

Streaming Video From a Website (YouTube, etc.)

Bibliography:

Bellaimey, John.“The Five Major World Religions.” YouTube. November 14, 2013. Video, 11:09. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m6dCxo7t_aE.

Footnote:

1. John Bellaimey, “The Five Major World Religions,” YouTube, November 14, 2013, video, 11:09, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m6dCxo7t_aE.

Streaming Video From a Library Database

Bibliography:

Leaman, Aaron, dir. Looking for Infinity: El Camino. ACL Creative Studio. 2017. Video, 60:41. https://up.kanopystreaming.com/video/looking-infinity-el-camino-011.

Footnote:

1. Looking for Infinity: El Camino, directed by Aaron Leaman, ACL Creative Studio, 2017, video, 25:20, https://up.kanopystreaming.com/video/looking-infinity-el-camino-011.

Television Series Episode

Bibliography:

Reich, Andrew and Ted Cohen, writers. Friends. Season 6, episode 14, "The One Where Chandler Can't Cry." Directed by Kevin Bright. Aired February 10, 2000, in broadcast syndication. Warner Brothers, 2004. DVD.

Footnote:

1. Friends, season 6, episode 14, "The One Where Chandler Can't Cry," directed by Kevin Bright, written by Andrew Reich and Ted Cohen, aired February 10, 2000, in broadcast syndication, Warner Brothers, 2004, DVD.


Television Series Episode Viewed on a Subscription Media Website 

When citing media watched from a streaming service, it is not necessary to include the production company or the release date; include the URL rather than the format.

Bibliography:

Gabaldon, Diana, Ronald D. Moore, and Matthew B. Roberts, writers. Outlander. Season 1, episode 4, "The Gathering." Directed by Brian Kelly. Aired August 30, 2014. https://www.netflix.com/watch/80103586?trackId=13752289.

Footnote:

1. Outlander, season 1, episode 4, "The Gathering, directed by Brian Kelly, written by Diana Gabaldon, Ronald D. Moore, and Matthew B. Roberts, aired August 30, 2014, https://www.netflix.com/watch/80103586?trackId=13752289.

library@up.edu | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
© 2020 University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com